6.13 NTX DL

North Texas hands the reigning champions their first defeat of the season

Arlington, Texas (June 13, 2021) - North Texas SC defeated the reigning USL League One champion Greenville Triumph SC 3-0 on Sunday night at Globe Life Park. 

Game Summary
First Half:

  • 4’ – Bernard Kamungo set up Gibran Rayo near the edge of the box, and his right-footed shot was punched over the crossbar by Greenville’s Dallas Jaye. 
  • 6’ – Gibran Rayo collected a bouncing ball inside the box and slammed it into the top right corner to give North Texas the 1-0 lead. 
  • 24’ – Kamungo was able to beat his marker and attempted a left-footed shot inside of the box which was deflected out by Jaye for a corner kick. 
  • 28’ – Kalil Elmedkhar cut inside from the left wing and a right-footed shot from the outside of the box sailed past Jaye to extend North Texas lead to 2-0. 

Second Half:

  • 49’ – Edwin Cerrillo’s pass inside of the box connected with Nkosi Tafari who simply poked it into the back of the net to increase North Texas lead to 3-0. 
  • 57’ – Kamungo nearly added the fourth goal of the day after a long run from Imanol Almaguer but the Tanzanian’s shot was over the bar. 
  • 89’ – Cerrillo raced down the right wing and beat his defender but his end-line cross was cut out by a defender. 
  • 90’ + 2’ – Hope Avayevu had his right-footed shot attempt from outside of the box pushed away by the goalkeeper. 


North Texas SC — Colin Shutler; Derek Waldeck, Caiser Gomes, Nkosi Tafari (Kazu – 80’), Mikey Maldonado, Edwin Cerrillo, Imanol Almaguer, Alex Bruce (Thibaut Jacquel – 65’), Bernard Kamungo (Collin Smith – 80’), Gibran Rayo (Hope Avayevu – 89’), Kalil ElMedkhar (Alisson – 64’).

Substitutes not used — Richard Sanchez, Rio Ramirez.

Greenville Triumph SC — Dallas Jaye, Tyler Polak, Brandon Fricke (Cesar Murillo – 62’), Abdi Mohamed (Jacob Goodall – 82’), Maxwell Hemmings, Aaron Walker, Noah Pilato (Cole McLagan – 75’), Don Smart (Joshua Donnelly – 65’), Alex Morrell (Allen Gavilanes – 62’), Marios Lomis, Lachlan McLean

Substitutes not used — Paul Christensen, Benjamin Hale.

Scoring Summary:
NTX: Gibran Rayo – 6’
NTX: Kalil Elmedkhar (Edwin Cerrillo) – 28’
NTX: Nkosi Tafari (Edwin Cerrillo) – 49’

Misconduct Summary:
Imanol Almaguer (Caution) — 13’
GVL: Don Smart (Caution) — 18’
GVL: Brandon Fricke (Caution) — 21’
GVL: Tyler Polak (Caution) — 48’
NTX: Edwin Cerrillo (Caution) — 76’
NTX: Gibran Rayo (Caution) — 86’
NTX: Edwin Cewrrillo (Ejection) — 90’ + 2’

Weather: Sunny, 99℉

Attendance: 758

Referee: Luis Guardia
Assistant Referees: Jennifer Garner, Tiffini Turpin
4th Official: Carlos De Dios