Texas Derby Info_091021_v1_MC_WEB

The Texas Derby is a rivalry between the Lone Star State's two MLS clubs, FC Dallas and the Houston Dynamo, recognizing the best club in the state for the season. The two squads play a series of games with the winner taking home an 18th-century mountain howitzer cannon named El Capitán. The winner is determined by whichever team earns the most points from MLS Regular Season matches.

Both FC Dallas and the Houston Dynamo have won El Capitán seven times. FCD leads the all-time series in MLS play, boasting a 13-12-15 (W-L-T) record. Kenny Cooper and Michael Barrios share FCD's all-time Texas Derby scoring lead with five goals each in MLS play.


2006-07: Houston Dynamo
2008: FC Dallas
2009: Houston Dynamo
2010: FC Dallas
2011-12: Houston Dynamo
2013-15: FC Dallas
2016-17: Houston Dynamo
2018-19: FC Dallas
2019-20: FC Dallas


The first tiebreaker is the head-to-head regular season series, followed by goal differential in that series. The third tiebreaker is the result of a playoff series (if applicable), followed by results from potential CONCACAF Champions League and Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup encounters. If all of these tiebreakers come out even, the holder retains El Capitán.