FC Dallas extends its lead atop the West after defeating Orlando City following a weather delay

  • Victor Ulloa becomes the seventh Homegrown Player in MLS history to reach 10,000 minutes
  • Maxi Urruti earns two assists, pulling 2018 total to 11
  • FC Dallas travels to Audi Field to face D.C. United on Oct. 13 at 3:55 PM CT.

FRISCO - FC Dallas defeated Orlando City 2-0 Saturday night at Toyota Stadium, with goals from Santiago Mosquera and Victor Ulloa.

First Half:

  • 9’ – Dominique Badji’s looping shot bounces off the top of the crossbar after controlling a cross in the box
  • 13’ – Mohamed El-Munir receives the ball on the left wing before unleashing a shot that rings off Jesse Gonzalez’s near post
  • 25’ – Carlos Gruezo forces the first save from Joe Bendik after being put through with a clever pass from Pablo Aránguiz
  • 29’ – Jesse Gonzalez denies Sacha Kljestan’s free kick with an acrobatic save
  • 33’ – Michael Barrios nearly opens the scoring after Ryan Hollingshead found him in the box, but Joe Bendik is up to the task and saves with his feet
  • 38’ – Jesse Gonzalez makes another smart save, this time stopping Yoshimar Yotún’s volley from distance

Second Half:

  • 48’ – A ball falls to Maxi Urruti just inside the box but his shot is wide of the near post
  • 63’ – Santiago Mosquera opens the scoring after controlling a low cross from Michael Barrios, cutting back towards goal and firing a right-footed shot
  • 69’ – Victor Ulloa scores his first of the year with a diving header off a free kick by Maxi Urruti


FC Dallas — Jesse Gonzalez; Ryan Hollingshead, Reto Ziegler, Matt Hedges, Reggie Cannon; Victor Ulloa, Carlos Gruezo; Pablo Aránguiz (Santiago Mosquera – 57’), Maxi Urruti, Michael Barrios (Abel Aguilar – 83’); Dominique Badji (Roland Lamah – 75’).

Substitutes not used — Jimmy Maurer, Maynor Figueroa, Marquinhos Pedroso, Jesús Ferreira.

Orlando City SC — Joseph Bendik, Scott Sutter, Lamine Sané, Shane O’Neill, Mohamed El-Munir, Carlos Ascues, Sacha Kljestan (Josué Colman – 81’), Will Johnson (Cristian Higuita – 76’), Chris Mueller (Richie Laryea – 76’), Yoshimar Yotún, Dom Dwyer.

Substitutes not used — Earl Edwards Jr., Amro Tarek, RJ Allen, Tony Rocha.

Scoring Summary:

FCD: Santiago Mosquera (Michael Barrios, Maxi Urruti) – 42’
FCD: Victor Ulloa (Maxi Urruti) – 69’

Misconduct Summary:

ORL: Dom Dwyer (caution) – 7’
FCD: Reggie Cannon (caution) – 27’
FCD: Carlos Gruezo (caution) – 28’
ORL: Yoshimar Yotún (caution) – 35’

Weather: Scattered Thunderstorms, 85
Attendance: 16,519

Referee: Nima Saghafi
Assistant Referee: Kyle Atkins, Jeremy Kieso
4th Official: Alejandro Mariscal
VAR: Ricardo Salazar