MLS Next Pro_DL3_120621_v1_LM_DL3

FRISCO, Texas (December 6, 2021) – Today, North Texas SC announced that it will compete in MLS Next Pro’s inaugural 2022 season alongside 19 other MLS-affiliated clubs and one independent club. North Texas SC will continue to play its home matches at Choctaw Stadium in Arlington, Texas. 

Established in June by Major League Soccer, the new professional league will complete an integrated player pathway from MLS NEXT through to MLS first teams. The new league will offer young players and experienced professionals the opportunity to develop and showcase their talents while competing for an MLS NEXT Pro championship. 

“We are excited to enter into this new era of professional soccer,” said North Texas SC General Manager Matt Denny. “MLS NEXT Pro will help us continue to support and develop the next generation of soccer talent. North Texas SC players have gone on to play in MLS, Serie A, Liga MX as well as their respective national teams and we are confident this league and the support of MLS will bring high level soccer to our fans.” 

MLS NEXT Pro will debut in 2022, a FIFA World Cup year, and just four years prior to the 2026 FIFA World Cup hosted by the United States, Canada, and Mexico. MLS NEXT Pro will bring professional soccer closer to fans and supporters, while providing more opportunities for players, coaches, referees, and sports business professionals throughout North America.

Cities across North America will experience the excitement and passion of professional soccer through the inclusion of both independent teams and MLS-affiliated teams. The 21 clubs competing in MLS NEXT Pro’s inaugural season include 20 teams affiliated with MLS clubs and one independent club, Rochester NY FC.

As a founding partner of MLS NEXT Pro, adidas will continue to expand upon its deep relationship with MLS and MLS NEXT. The partnership affirms adidas’ commitment to the growth and advancement of the sport of soccer in local communities throughout the United States, Canada and globally. 

Rochester NY FC will serve as MLS NEXT Pro’s inaugural independent club. Rochester NY FC, founded in 1996 as the Rochester Rhinos and rebranded this September, is owned by David and Wendy Dworkin, and co-owned by Premier League striker, and former England National Team star, Jamie Vardy of Leicester City F.C. 

In addition to Rochester NY FC, the following MLS clubs will compete in MLS NEXT Pro’s 2022 season: 

Chicago          Colorado        Columbus       Cincinnati       Dallas

Houston          Kansas City   Miami             Minnesota      New England

NYCFC          Orlando          Philadelphia    Portland          Salt Lake

San Jose        Seattle            St. Louis         Toronto           Vancouver

Eight additional MLS-affiliated teams will join MLS NEXT Pro in 2023, including: Atlanta United, Austin FC, Charlotte FC, D.C. United, LA Galaxy, LAFC, Nashville SC, and New York Red Bulls. In addition to Rochester NY FC, MLS NEXT Pro will introduce additional independent clubs to the league in 2023 and beyond.

MLS NEXT Pro will kick off its inaugural season in March, just one month after Major League Soccer action starts, and see its season culminate in postseason action in September. The full 2022 match schedule and competition details will be announced at a later date.