Arlington, TX (Sept. 4, 2021) - North Texas SC tied FC Tucson 1-1 to extend its unbeaten streak to nine games thanks to a goal from Kazu at Choctaw Stadium on Saturday night.

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 7’ – (SHOT, NTX) Gibran Rayo had his close-range shot saved by Wallis Lapsley to prevent the goal scoring opportunity.
  • 24’ – (SHOT, NTX) Collin Smith’s shot attempt from the right side of the box was comfortably saved by Lapsley in the middle of the goal.
  • 45’+2’ – (CHANCE, NTX) Thibaut Jacquel’s free kick from long range dipped too late as it went out for a FC Tucson goal kick.

Second Half:

  • 71’ – (GOAL, NTX) Kazu intercepted the defender’s clearance, and opened the scoring with a left-footed curling shot.
  • 81’ – (GOAL, TUC) Deri Corfe was at the end of Noah Franke’s cross to tap it in and level the match up for FC Tucson at 1-1.
  • 90’+3’ – (SHOT, NTX) Derek Waldeck’s cross was headed towards goal by Nicky Hernandez and it went wide.
  • 90’+5’ – (SHOT, NTX) Goalkeeper Richard Sanchez came up for a last-minute corner but his headed shot attempt went over the bar.


North Texas SC — Richard Sanchez, Devin Benton (Derek Waldeck – 45’), Rio Ramirez, Caiser Gomes, Collin Smith, Blaine Ferri (Alex Bruce – 82’), Mikey Maldonado, Imanol Almaguer (Gabriel – 62’), Bernard Kamungo (Kazu – 45’), Thibaut Jacquel (Nicky Hernandez – 57’), Gibran Rayo.

Substitutes not used — Colin Shutler, Mark Salas.

FC Tucson — Wallis Lapsley, Kaelon Fox, Luca Mastrantonio, Dakota Barnathan (Deri Corfe – 55’), Maxi Schenfeld, Mohamed Kone, Joao Delgado (Brandon Sanchez – 82’), Daniel Bedoya (Manu Ferriol – 72’), Noah Franke, Gio Calixtro (Franco Perez – 72’), Tobenna Uzo (Alex Knox – 72’).

Substitutes not used — Ryan Shellow, Charlie Dennis.

Scoring Summary:
NTX (1-0):
Kazu – 77’TUC (1-1): Deri Corfe (Noah Franke) – 81’

Misconduct Summary:
Collin Smith (Caution) — 64’TUC: Tobenna Uzo (Caution) — 71’*
* Caiser Gomes (Caution) — 73’TUC: Joao Delgado (Caution) — 74’

Weather: Sunny, 80℉

Attendance: 708

Referee: Corbyn May

Assistant Referees: Ken Mizuno, Chana Forstall

4th Official: Carlos De Dios