HIGHLIGHTS: FC Dallas at Montreal Impact | 8.17.19

Ryan Hollingshead’s scores game-tying goal in the 90th minute 

  • Bryan Reynolds earned his first FC Dallas MLS start. 
  • Zdenek Ondrasek scored his FC Dallas goal.
  • FC Dallas hosts Houston Dynamo in the second match of the 2019 Texas Derby on Sunday, August 25 at 7PM CT. The match will be broadcast on FS1, FCDallas.com/Radio and 99.1FM en Español. 

Montreal, QC – FC Dallas fought back from a three-goal deficit with goals from Zdenek Ondrasek, Reto Ziegler and Ryan Hollingshead to earn a crucial point in Montreal Saturday night. 

MATCH RECAP: FC Dallas Earns a Point in Comeback Draw Against Montreal Impact -

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 8’ Matt Hedges attempted to block a cross from Daniel Lovitz to Lassi Lappalainen, but the ball slipped from underneath his feet and Lappalainen sent his shot past Jesse Gonzalez to the bottom right. 
  • 17’ Jesús Ferreira’s shot at the top of the box was blocked by Jukka Raitala following a corner from Michael Barrios
  • 38’ – Lappalainen skipped inside of a challenge, but his low shot was saved by Jesse Gonzalez.
  • 45’+1’ – A pass by Ferreira was picked up by Lappalainen who was able to run unopposed towards goal and finish past Jesse Gonzalez.

Second Half:

  • 56’ – Orji Okwonkwo scored the third goal for Montreal after connecting on a cross from Saphier Taider. 
  • 59’ – Zdenek Ondrasek tapped in a rebound after a save from Evan Bush to score FC Dallas’ first goal of the night. 
  • 65’ – Michael Barrios connected with a pass from Ondrasek to fire a close-range shot but his effort was saved by Bush. 
  • 85’ – A Michael Barrios corner was headed by Ryan Hollingshead onto Ken Krolicki arm, and the ensuing penalty was smashed into the corner by Reto Ziegler.
  • 90’ – Michael Barrios’s swinging corner was met by Ryan Hollingshead jumped and put his header into the far corner.


FC Dallas — Jesse Gonzalez; Reggie Cannon, Matt Hedges, Reto Ziegler, Ryan Hollingshead; Paxton Pomykal (Brandon Servania – 79’), Bryan Acosta, Jesús Ferreira (Ricardo Pepi – 71’); Michael Barrios, Dominique Badji, Bryan Reynolds (Zdenek Ondrasek – 46’).

Substitutes not used Jimmy Maurer, Bressan, Edwin Cerrillo, Edwin Gyasi.

Montreal Impact — Evan Bush; Daniel Lovitz, Jukka Raitala, Rudy Camacho, Bacary Sagna; Lassi Lappalainen, Saphier Taider, Orji Okwonkwo (Ballou Tabla – 71’), Ken Krolicki; Bojan (Shamit Shome – 61’), Maximiliano Urruti.

Substitutes not used — Clement Diop, Jorge Corrales, Clemen Bayiha, Mathieu Choiniere, Anthony Jackson-Hamel.

Scoring Summary:

MTL:  Lassi Lappalainen – 8’
MTL:  Lassi Lappalainen – 8’
MTL:  Orji Okwonkwo – (Saphier Taider, Lassi Lappalainen)  – 56’
FCD: Zdenek Ondrasek – 59’
FCD: Reto Ziegler (PK) – 85’
FCD: Ryan Hollingshead (Michael Barrios) – 90’

Misconduct Summary:
FCD: Bryan Acosta (caution) – 35’
FCD: Reto Ziegler (caution) – 35’
MTL: Orji Okwonkwo (caution) – 68’
MTL: Jukka Raitala (caution) – 81’
MTL: Daniel Lovitz (caution) – 90’+3’
FCD: Michael Barrios (caution) – 90’+3’

Weather: Cloudy, 76
Attendance: 17,509

Referee: Ted Unkel
Assistant Referees: Kathryn Nesbitt, Andrew Bigelow
4th Official: Yusri Rudolf
VAR: Ricardo Salazar