2022 Season

FC Dallas Striker Jesús Ferreira Tops MLS’ 22 Under 22 List for 2022


Frisco, TX (Sept. 20, 2022) – FC Dallas forward Jesús Ferreira topped Major League Soccer’s 22 Under 22 list presented by BODYARMOUR, the league announced today. The 21-year-old Homegrown is the second straight FC Dallas player to earn the honor after Ricardo Pepi topped the list in 2021. FC Dallas forward Alan Velasco came in at seventh on the list in his first year of MLS play. 

Ferreira is having a career season for FC Dallas with a team-high 18 goals. He is currently tied with Kenny Cooper (2008) and Jason Kreis (1999) for the most goals scored in a single season. This is Ferreira’s fourth year making the list. He ranked ninth in 2021, 16th in 2020 and ninth in 2019.

Alan Velasco came to FC Dallas during the 2022 offseason and has made an immediate impact on the pitch, netting six goals and six assists through 25 matches. He has earned MLS Team of the Week honors twice and Team of the Week bench honors twice, as well.

The voting panel was comprised of MLSsoccer.com staff, members of the MLS player department and external media. Voters were asked to rank their Top-22 players in order based on technical, tactical, physical and potential abilities.

FC Dallas’ Winning Tradition
Four FC Dallas players have topped the MLS’ list of top young players with Ferreira (2022) joining Pepi (2021), Fabian Castillo (2015) and Brek Shea (2011). In 2015 and 2011, the list was known as MLS’ Top 24 Under 24. The rankings changed to 22 Under 22 in 2018.

History of FC Dallas Selections in MLS 22 Under 22/24 Under 24
2022: Jesús Ferreira (1), Alan Velasco (7)2021: Ricardo Pepi (1), Jesús Ferreira (9), Paxton Pomykal (13), Justin Che (16)
2020: Paxton Pomykal (5), Jesús Ferreira (16), Bryan Reynolds (18), Tanner Tessmann (21)
2019: Paxton Pomykal (3), Reggie Cannon (5), Jesús Ferreira (9), Brandon Servania (18)
2018: Reggie Cannon (7), Pablo Aranguiz (18)
2017: Kellyn Acosta (2), Carlos Gruezo (14), Jesse Gonzalez (20)
2016: Kellyn Acosta (4), Carlos Gruezo (8), Jesse Gonzalez (9), Walker Zimmerman (11)
2015: Fabian Castillo (1), Kellyn Acosta (14)
2014: Fabian Castillo (3), Mauro Diaz (6), Tesho Akindele (23)
2013: Fabian Castillo (15)
2012: Brek Shea (3), Fabian Castillo (22)
2011: Brek Shea (1), Fabian Castillo (7)
2010: Brek Shea (7), Dax McCarty (24)

Positioned as MLS 24 Under 24