Trio to take on Real Madrid in Chicago on Wednesday, Aug. 2

FRISCO – FC Dallas' Kellyn Acosta, Matt Hedges and Hernán Grana will represent Major League Soccer against Spanish superpower Real Madrid in the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target on Wednesday, Aug. 2 at Soldier Field.

FC Dallas' Kellyn Acosta, Matt Hedges and Hernán Grana Named to 2017 MLS All-Star Game, presented by Target -

Acosta was one of two picks made by MLS Commissioner Don Garber while Hedges and Grana were two of 11 selections made by All-Star and Chicago Fire head coach Veljko Paunović. The trio will face the reigning La Liga and UEFA Champions League title holders at 7:30 p.m. CT – live on FS1, Univision, TSN, and TVA Sports on Wednesday, Aug. 2.

"It's a great honor to be selected for the All-Star team, especially being a Commissioner’s pick. It's a proud moment for myself, my family and FC Dallas. I put a lot of work into this and this has been a special year for me," Acosta said. "I'm happy and excited to play alongside the best in MLS and face one of the best clubs in the world. It's going to be an exciting match and I can't wait to take the field."

"It's an honor to be included in the All-Star game," Hedges said. "I am excited to be on the field with all of the outstanding  players who will be there."

The full MLS roster is a mix of 16 all-star veterans as well as eight all-star newcomers, representing 13 MLS clubs and hailing from 13 different countries, the most diverse group in all-star history. Additionally, 20 of the 24 players named to the roster have represented their countries at the full national team level.

FC Dallas' Kellyn Acosta, Matt Hedges and Hernán Grana Named to 2017 MLS All-Star Game, presented by Target -

One of the most successful clubs in the world, Real Madrid have claimed a record 33 La Liga championships and 12 UEFA Champions League titles, as well as have captured the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup on multiple occasions. Under the direction of the legendary Zinedine Zidane, the club is home to international superstars such as four-time Ballon d’Or recipient Cristiano Ronaldo, 28-year-old star Gareth Bale, and four-time La Liga Best Defender Sergio Ramos.

Full Roster by Position:

Goalkeeper: Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Hernán Grana (FC Dallas), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Johan Kappelhof (Chicago Fire), Michael Parkhurst (Atlanta United), Jelle Van Damme (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Miguel Almirón (Atlanta United), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers).

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Nemanja Nikolić (Chicago Fire), David Villa (New York City FC).

Full Roster by Team:

Atlanta United (3): Miguel Almirón, Greg Garza, Michael Parkhurst
Chicago Fire (4): Johan Kappelhof, Dax McCarty, Nemanja Nikolić, Bastian Schweinsteiger
Colorado Rapids (1): Tim Howard
FC Dallas (3): Kellyn Acosta, Hernán Grana, Matt Hedges
Houston Dynamo (1): DaMarcus Beasley
LA Galaxy (2): Giovani dos Santos, Jelle Van Damme
Montreal Impact (1): Ignacio Piatti
New York City FC (1): David Villa
Orlando City SC (1): Kaká
Portland Timbers (1): Diego Valeri
Seattle Sounders FC (1): Stefan Frei
Sporting Kansas City (2): Dom Dwyer, Graham Zusi    
Toronto FC (3): Jozy Altidore, Michael Bradley, Sebastian Giovinco