Protected List

FC Dallas Announces its 12 Protected Players Ahead of Tuesday’s 2020 MLS Expansion Draft

Major League Soccer announces all available players for selection in Expansion Draft

FRISCO, Texas (Dec. 14, 2020) – Major League Soccer announced today the list of players available for selection in the 2020 Expansion Draft. The Expansion Draft will provide an opportunity for expansion club Austin FC to select up to five players from the eligible list, starting tomorrow, Dec. 15 at 5 p.m. CT. The list includes 160 available players.

FC Dallas Expansion Draft List
Protected (12): Bryan Acosta, Michael Barrios, Bressan, Matt Hedges, Ryan Hollingshead, Franco Jara, Jimmy Maurer, Phelipe Megiolaro, Fafa Picault, Andrés Ricaurte, Thiago Santos and Ema Twumasi.

Automatically Protected Players (12): Edwin Cerrillo, Justin Che, Jesús Ferreira, Eddie Munjoma, John Nelson, Ricardo Pepi, Paxton Pomykal, Bryan Reynolds, Thomas Roberts, Dante Sealy, Brandon Servania and Tanner Tessmann.

Available for selection (5): Francis Atuahene, Nkosi Burgess, Santiago Mosquera, Reto Ziegler and Kyle Zobeck.

Each current MLS club had the opportunity to protect 12 players from their 2020 roster. Generation adidas players (who did not graduate at the end of the 2020 season) and Homegrown Players (ages 25 and under) on a club's off-budget roster are automatically protected and do not count against a team's 12 protected roster spots.

Designated Players are not automatically protected. If a Designated Player has a no-trade clause in his contract, then the club must protect him in the Expansion Draft.

Atlanta United, FC Cincinnati, Columbus Crew SC, Sporting Kansas City, Los Angeles Football Club, Minnesota United FC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders FC are exempt from the 2020 Expansion Draft because they had players selected by Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC during the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft.

Austin FC will receive an additional sum of General Allocation Money as compensation for 10 exempt teams, protected Homegrown players, and the twelve protected players per team in the MLS Expansion Draft. For a club that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster, that team will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.