FC Dallas Falls 1-0 to Seattle Sounders in Western Conference Semifinals

  • Matt Hedges appeared in his 299th match for FC Dallas across all competitions (MLS regular season, playoffs, Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, Concacaf Champions League).

Seattle, Washington (Dec. 1, 2020) – FC Dallas was knocked out of the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs after falling to Seattle Sounders FC, 1-0, Tuesday night at Lumen Field.

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 11’ – Matt Hedges made a diving block to deny Nouhou’s close-range shot
  • 18’ – Ryan Hollingshead received a through-ball from Andrés Ricaurte on the left flank but his low shot ended up just wide of Seattle’s far post.
  • 40’ – Joevin Jones connected with Cristian Roldan’s low cross but his first-time shot was well over Jimmy Maurer’s goal.
  • 41’ – Bressan made a smart block at the top of Dallas’ 18-yard box to stifle Raúl Ruidíaz’s attempt.
  • 45’ – Fafa Picault latched onto Ricaurte’s free kick but his header went high over the bar.

Second Half

  • 49’ – Shane O’Neill opens the scoring for Seattle with a near-post header following a corner kick.
  • 63’ – Dallas nearly found its equalizer but Michael Barrios’ shot struck the post before Ricaurte’s rebound-attempt was blocked on the goal line. 
  • 75’ – Kelvin Leerdam found Jordan Morris in FCD’s box but his ensuing shot was wide of the near post. 
  • 84’ – Barrios sent a low, driven cross in front of Seattle’s goal but no FCD player was on-hand to connect with it.
  • 87’ – A loose ball fell to Leerdam with Maurer out of his goal but his first-time volley flew over Dallas’ goal.

FC Dallas — Jimmy Maurer; Johnny Nelson (Michael Barrios – 58’), Bressan, Matt Hedges, Bryan Reynolds; Fafa Picault (Ricardo Pepi – 80’), Tanner Tessmann (Santiago Mosquera – 81’), Thiago Santos (Jesús Ferreira – 87’), Ryan Hollingshead; Andrés Ricaurte, Franco Jara.

Substitutes not used — Phelipe, Reto Ziegler, Callum Montgomery, Brandon Servania, Ema Twumasi.

Seattle Sounders — Stefan Frei; Nouhou Tolo, Shane O’Neill, Yeimar Gómez, Alex Roldan; João Paulo (Román Torres – 87’), Cristian Roldan; Jordan Morris (Brad Smith – 90’+1’), Nicolás Lodeiro, Joevin Jones (Kelvin Leerdam – 68’), Raul Ruidíaz.

Substitutes not used — Stefan Cleveland, Xavier Arreaga, Miguel Ibarra, Jordy Delem, Will Bruin, Jimmy Medranda.

Scoring Summary:
SEA: Shane O’Neill (Nicolás Lodeiro) – 49’

Misconduct Summary:
FCD: Bressan (caution) – 58’
SEA: João Paulo (caution) – 69’
FCD: Thiago Santos (caution) – 74’

Weather: Clear, 43

Referee: Robert Sibiga
Assistant Referees: Frank Anderson, Jeremy Kieso
4th Official: Fotis Bazakos
VAR Official: David Gantar