FC Dallas Defeats Houston Dynamo with a Commanding 3-0 Win at Toyota Stadium

FC Dallas clinches spot in the 2020 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs with today's win

Frisco, Texas (Oct. 31, 2020) – FC Dallas wins third straight Texas Derby and the Houston Dynamo go home empty-handed on Halloween after FC Dallas sweetens its final home game with a 3-0 win and a playoff spot in the 2020 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs.

Game Summary
First Half:

  • 19’ – Franco Jara scores his seventh goal of the season from very close range after Michael Barrios heads in a cross from Fafa Picault. 
  • 27’ – Andrés Ricaurte finds Fafa Picault at the back post who headers it past Houston’s Marko Maric to make it 2-0.

Second Half

  • 48’ – Andrés Ricaurte attempted a left-footed curling shot near the edge of the box, but Houston’s Maric was able to punch it away. 
  • 50’ – Jimmy Maurer makes his first save of the match as he stops Ariel Lassiter’s right-footed shot from a difficult angle.
  • 67’ –  Ricaurte’s close range shot attempt goes over the Houston goal for a goal kick. 
  • 70’ – Maurer denies Houston the chance to get on the board after Victor Cabrera’s header lands in Maurer’s hands for his second save of the day. 
  • 90’+3’ – Picault wins the ball back in the midfield and is able to slot it past Maric to score his second goal of the match and make it 3-0.

FC Dallas — Jimmy Maurer; Ryan Hollingshead, Bressan, Matt Hedges, Bryan Reynolds (John Nelson – 44’); Thiago Santos, Andrés Ricaurte, Jesús Ferreira (Tanner Tessmann – 59’); Fafa Picault,Franco Jara (Santiago Mosquera – 75’), Michael Barrios (Reto Ziegler – 75’)

Substitutes not used — Phelipe, Brandon Servania, Ema Twumasi, Ricardo Pepi, Dante Sealy.

Houston Dynamo — Marko Maric; Adam Lundkvist, Víctor Cabrera, Alejandro Fuenmayor, José Bizama; Darwin Cerén, Darwin Quintero, Wilfred Zahibo (Óscar Boniek García – 63’); Ariel Lassiter (Tomás Martínez – 62’), Christian Ramirez (Mauro Manotas – 62’), Niko Hansen (Memo Rodríguez – 35’).

Substitutes not used — Cody Cropper, Maynor Figueroa, Zarek Valentin, Nico Lemoine, Marcelo Palomino.

Scoring Summary:
FCD: Franco Jara (Michael Barrios, Fafa Picault) – 19’
FCD: Fafa Picault (Andrés Ricaurte) – 27’
FCD: Fafa Picault  – 90’+3’

Misconduct Summary:
HOU: José Bizama (caution) – 45’+2’
HOU: Wilfred Zahibo (caution) – 55’
FCD: Thiago Santos (caution) – 69’
FCD: Fafa Picault (caution) – 90’ + 4’

Weather: Sunny, 69
Attendance: 4,028

Referee: Jair Marrufo
Assistant Referees: Corey Rockwell, Diego Blas
4th Official: Elton Garcia
VAR Official: Edvin Jurisevic