MATCH RECAP: FC Dallas Falls 3-2 to Minnesota United FC at Allianz Field | 9.9.20

Andrés Ricaurte and Dante Sealy make their MLS debuts
  • Homegrown forward Ricardo Pepi scored his second goal of the season
  • Goalkeeper Kyle Zobeck made his first MLS start
  • Homegrown defender Bryan Reynolds records his second-career assist
  • FC Dallas faces Houston Dynamo on Saturday, September 12 at Toyota Stadium. The match, presented by Toyota, kicks off at 7:30PM CT.

St Paul, Minnesota – FC Dallas (2-2-5) falls 3-2 to Minnesota United FC (5-3-2) despite a late comeback attempt Wednesday night at Allianz Field.

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 11’ – Mason Toye scores a left-footed shot and gives Minnesota United an early lead after Robin Lod intercepts a pass from Ryan Hollingshead.
  • 28’ – Kevin Molino doubles the lead for Minnesota after he taps in a cross from Romain Métanire near the top of the box.
  • 42’ – Ricardo Pepi cuts Minnesota’s lead in half after he slides Bryan Reynolds’ cross past St. Clair from close range.

Second Half:

  • 52’ – Kyle Zobeck pushes Kevin Molino’s shot just wide to deny him his second goal of the night.
  • 70’ – Kevin Molino scores a penalty after Romain Métanire is fouled inside the box.
  • 77’ – Santiago Mosquera scores his first goal of the season from close range following a corner.
  • 90’ – Mosquera has another chance in the box but his goal-bound shot was blocked by a Minnesota defender.


FC Dallas — Kyle Zobeck, Reto Ziegler, Ryan Hollingshead (Dante Sealy – 87’), Bressan; Johnny Nelson (Andrés Ricaurte – 46’), Brandon Servania (Tanner Tessmann – 62’), Thiago Santos (Jesús Ferreira – 87’), Bryan Reynolds; Ricardo Pepi (Santiago Mosquera – 68’), Franco Jara, Michael Barrios.

Substitutes not used — Charlie Lyon, Nkosi Burgess, Edwin Cerrillo, Thomas Roberts.

Minnesota United FC — Dayne St. Clair; Chase Gasper, Michael Boxall, José Aja, Romain Métanire; Hassani Dotson, Jan Gregus; Kevin Molino (Bakaye Dibassy – 87’), Emanuel Reynoso (Jacori Hayes – 73’), Robin Lod; Mason Toye (Raheem Edwards – 81’).

Substitutes not used — Greg Ranjitsingh, James Musa, Marlon Hairston, Thomás Chacón.

Scoring Summary:
MIN: Mason Toye (Robin Lod) – 11’
MIN: Kevin Molino (Romain Métanire, Emanuel Reynoso) – 28’
FCD: Ricardo Pepi (Bryan Reynolds, Michael Barrios) – 42’
MIN: Kevin Molino (PK) – 70’
FCD: Santiago Mosquera (Bressan, Andrés Ricaurte) – 77’

Misconduct Summary:
MIN: Chase Gasper (caution) – 47’
MIN: Kevin Molino (Romain Métanire, Emanuel Reynoso) – 28’
MIN: José Aja (caution) – 80’ 
MIN: Romain Métanire (ejection) – 82’

Weather: Cloudy, 46

Referee: Alex Chilowicz
Assistant Referees: Kathryn Nesbitt, Eric Weisbrod
4th Official: Lukasz Szpala
VAR Official: Chris Penso