Best Picks at No. 14
USA Today

Best All-Time MLS SuperDraft Picks at FC Dallas' No. 14

FRISCO, Texas — The 2020 MLS SuperDraft is quickly approaching, and on Jan. 9, FC Dallas will be on the clock for the No. 14 and 17 picks. This will be the third year in a row that FCD will have multiple first round picks — the club selected Charlotte's Callum Montgomery and North Carolina's Johnny Nelson with the No. 4 and No. 10 picks in last year's draft. This time around, FC Dallas will try to find a hidden gem that can develop and contribute within the next few years.

Here is a look at the five best picks selected at No. 14.

5. David Horst — Real Salt Lake

Starting off the list at No. 5 is defender David Horst, who was drafted out of Old Dominion in 2008. Horst made 148 appearances across 11 seasons in MLS, and he won the 2009 MLS Cup with Real Salt Lake, although he didn't contribute to the team's playoff run. Horst spent time in Portland and Houston following his time at RSL, and he was an integral part of the Dynamo back line for three season from 2014-2016.

4. George John — FC Dallas

John checks in at the No. 4 spot after being drafted by FC Dallas out of the University of Washington. John logged more than 2,000 minutes three separate times for FC Dallas, and he was an important piece in the team's 2010 season where it won the Western Conference before falling to the Colorado Rapids in the MLS Cup. John scored against LA Galaxy in the conference semifinals that season, and he helped the team record a franchise-best goals against average of 0.93. The reason he makes the list ahead of Horst is due to his importance to his team during its success.

3. Carey Talley — D.C. United

Carey Talley was selected by D.C. United in 1998 out of North Carolina, and he would go on to have a long and successful career in MLS. Talley helped United win the 1999 MLS Cup, the 1998 CONCACAF Champions Cup and the 1998 Interamerican Cup. Talley played for 15 seasons with seven different teams and was a staple on a team's back line, especially D.C. United.

2. Shalrie Joseph — New England Revolution

Shalrie Joseph checks in at No. 2 on the list of players selected at No. 14 in the MLS SuperDraft. Joseph was one of the best players in the league let alone on his team for multiple seasons, and he was a finalist for the 2009 MLS MVP, which was won by Landon Donovan. Joseph was a seven-time All-Star and made the Best XI four times in his 12-year career, and he helped the Revolution win its first trophy in club history after raising the 2007 U.S. Open Cup. Joseph helped the Revs reach the MLS Cup in 2005, 2006, 2007, but failed to win all three times.

1. Ned Grabavoy — LA Galaxy

Grabavoy tops the list of No. 14 draft picks and beats out Joseph by a slim margin. Grabavoy was selected by LA Galaxy in 2004 out of Indiana University, and he enjoyed success with multiple clubs during his 14-year career in MLS. He won an MLS Cup with the Galaxy in 2005 and scored a goal in its playoff run, but he really made a name for himself while at Real Salt Lake. Grabavoy helped RSL win the 2009 MLS Cup along with the 2010 Supporters' Shield and the 2013 U.S. Open Cup. A player who could play in the midfield and out wide, Grabavoy will forever be a part of RSL's history after his time with the club.

A look at every player selected 14th overall in the MLS SuperDraft

Year Club Player MLS Appearances
1996 Tampa Bay Mutiny Casey Sweeney Zero
1997 San Jose Clash Jason Annichero Zero
1998 D.C. United Carey Talley 315
1999 Kansas City Wizards John Wilson 32
2000 New England Revolution Rusty Pierce 155
2001 Tampa Bay Mutiny Devin Barclay 42
2002 New England Revolution Shalrie Joseph 283
2003 D.C. United Doug Warren 11
2004 LA Galaxy Ned Grabavoy 301
2005 Chivas USA Christian Jimenez 1
2006 Chicago Fire Jeff Curtin 3
2007 FC Dallas Abdus Ibrahim 18
2008 Real Salt lake David Horst 148
2009 FC Dallas George John 119
2010 New York Red Bulls Austin Da Luz 21
2011 Chivas USA Victor Estupiñan 9
2012 Colorado Rapids Tony Cascio 48
2013 Sporting KC Mikey Lopez 41
2014 Columbus Crew Ben Sweat 72
2015 Colorado Rapids Axel Sjoberg 88
2016 Montreal Impact Kyle Fisher 22
2017 Sporting KC Colton Storm Zero
2018 Atlanta United Jon Gallagher Zero
2019 D.C. United Akeem Ward 1