Match Recap: North Texas Claims Inaugural USL League One Title

Arturo Rodriguez’s 60th minute goal the difference in 1-0 win

FRISCO, Texas – An Arturo Rodriguez goal and a seven-save performance by Kyle Zobeck led North Texas to the inaugural USL League One title.

Game Summary
First Half:

12’ – Carlos Gomez flicked the ball into the path of Tyler Polak who was in one-on-one, but his chip drifted high and wide.
16’ – Christian Bermudez found space in the box and his shot was pushed wide by Kyle Zobeck.
18’ – Imanol Almaguer picked up Oscar Romero’s and fired in a curler, but Dallas Jaye was equal to it.
40’ – Bryan Reynolds raced into space on the right flank and his cross-cum shot was collected by Jaye.
44’ – Arturo Rodriguez’s free kick curled over the wall and crashed against the post with Jaye beaten.
45 +1’ – Bermudez picked up a loose ball outside the box and tried his luck, but Zobeck stood tall to push away.

Second Half:
52’ – Rodriguez placed a 1-2 with Thomas Roberts and curled a shot wide from the edge of the box.
57’ – Reynolds chipped a cross in and Ronaldo Damus’s flying volley flew over the bar.
60’ – Jonothan Gomez crossed it into the box and after a failed clearance Rodriguez collected and fired it into the corner to give North Texas the lead.
64’ – Carlos Gomez collected a cutback from 12 yards but could only fire straight at Zobeck.
78’ –  Omer Mohamed’s snapshot from a Polak cross was knocked away by Zobeck’s great reflexs
88’ – Zobeck came up trumps again as he saved from Dominic Bolland.

North Texas SC — Kyle Zobeck; Jonothan Gomez, Callum Montgomery, Brecc Evans, Bryan Reynolds; Alfusainey Jatta(Tanner Tessmann – 71’), Thomas Roberts (Cesar Murillo– 86’), Imanoal Almaguer; Arturo Rodriguez, Ronaldo Damus, Oscar Romero(Richard Danso– 80’).

Substitutes not used — Carlos Avilez, Gibran Rayo, Tanner Tessmann, Dante Sealy.

Greeville Triumph FC — Dallas Jaye; Tyler Polak, Kevin Politz, Cole Seller, Evan Lee; Christopher Bermudez(Dominc Boland – 75’), Carlos Gomez, Paul Clowes(Cameron Saul– 80’), Aaron Walker; Joshua Donnelly, Omar Mohamed.

Substitutes not used — David Greczek, Choi-Sang Ryeong, Sami Guediri, Travis Ward, Edmundo Robinson.

Scoring Summary:

NTX: Arturo Rodriguez — 60’

Misconduct Summary:
NTX: Alfusainey Jatta — 7’

Weather: Sunny, 80
Attendance: 3,245

Referee: Jon Freemon
Assistant Referees: Ian McKay, Benjamin Hall-Vopenhein
4th Official: JC Griggs