Texas Sports HOF Lifetime Achievement DL3

Texas Sports Hall of Fame to Celebrate the Hunt Family and Their 60th Year in Professional Sports

Texas Sports Hall of Fame to celebrate the Lamar Hunt family and their 60th year in professional sports with its highest honor

WACO, Texas – The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) is pleased to announce that the family of Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Kansas City Chiefs Founder, former FC Dallas investor-operator and American sports pioneer Lamar Hunt has been selected as the 2019 Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award recipient in celebration of the family’s 60th anniversary in professional sports.

Current Kansas City Chiefs and FC Dallas Chairman and C.E.O. Clark Hunt will accept the award on behalf of the family.  The Hunt family becomes the seventh overall recipient, joining fellow professional sports franchise owners Donald Carter, Red McCombs, Drayton McLane and Bob McNair as well as Texas sports dignitaries Dave Campbell and Rudy Davalos. 

“My dad dedicated his professional life to sports, and he helped establish the Texas Sports Hall of Fame to celebrate the outstanding contributions of his fellow Texans to the games he loved,” stated Hunt.  “My family and I sincerely appreciate the commitment of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame to preserving the legacy and history of sports in the great state of Texas, and we are humbled to have my father Lamar associated with the hall’s highest honor.”

The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award, established in 2006, honors an individual/s who has achieved special acclaim by being influential in enhancing Texas sports history.  The criteria include having had, throughout the course of one’s life, a significant and positive impact on the landscape of Texas sports.  The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award represents the highest honor bestowed by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and past recipients are among the great sports leaders of our state whose vision and service in the world of sports have left a lasting legacy.

The event will be held Thursday, November 14, 2019 in Frisco, Texas, at FC Dallas’ home, Toyota Stadium.  A private cocktail reception will start at 6:45 p.m., with a dinner and award ceremony beginning at 7:15 p.m. 

“It truly is an honor to recognize the Hunt family’s tremendous impact on the history of sports in the state of Texas,” said Cooper Jones, President & C.E.O. of the TSHOF.  “The Hunt family not only brought professional football and soccer to Texas, but their strong ties to the community and servant-leadership mentality are an example for us all.  Clark, his brothers and sister as well as the entire Hunt family, continue that proud tradition to this day in multiple communities across the country. ”

“In addition, the TSHOF’s relationship with Lamar Hunt goes back to the late 1970s when the TSHOF and Hunt family opened the doors of the Hall in Grand Prairie, Texas.  Almost 40 years later, the TSHOF is still going strong and we have Lamar Hunt and the Hunt family to thank for that.”  

Tickets for the 2019 Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award gala can be purchased for $750 or a table for $5,000.  All ticket and table purchases are tax-deductible.  The proceeds of the dinner will benefit the ongoing mission and educational outreach efforts of the TSHOF, as well as the establishment of a permanent endowment in honor of Lamar Hunt and the Hunt family at the TSHOF.


About the Texas Sports Hall of Fame

The Texas Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, located in Waco, Texas, chronicles the heroes and legends of Lone Star State sports at all levels including high school standouts, collegiate athletes, Olympians and professionals. Established in 1951, the organization’s mission is to preserve the legacies of all inductees and to promote the history of sports in Texas as well as educate and inspire guests of all ages. 

Home to over 350 Texas sporting legends, the museum also hosts the Texas Tennis Museum, the Southwest Conference Gallery and Hall of Fame, and Texas High School Football Hall of Fame.  For more information, please visit http://www.tshof.org.