MATCH RECAP: FC Dallas Falls to Orlando City SC on the Road | 8.3.19

FC Dallas returns to Toyota Stadium to face Minnesota United FC on August 10

  • Edwin Gyasi made his first start for FC Dallas.
  • FC Dallas concedes its first two goals against Orlando City SC in club history.
  • FC Dallas hosts Minnesota United FC on Saturday, August 10 at 7 PM CT in a match presented by Metro by T-Mobile. The match will be broadcasted on Texas 21, and 1270AM en Español. 

Orlando, FL – FC Dallas falls to Orlando City SC 2-0 at Exploria Stadium with goals from former FC Dallas player Tesho Akindele and Carlos Ascues. 

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 13’ – Ruan’s through pass split the FCD defense in half and Tesho Akindele stepped up to put one past his former team and give Orlando the early lead.
  • 17’ Edwin Gyasi fired a low shot from outside the box, but Brian Rowe made an easy save. 
  • 32’ Michael Barrios sent a long range shot from the top of the box but missed to the left after Paxton Pomykal was unable to find space inside the box. 
  • 45’+ 1’ – Akindele crossed the ball toward the top of the 18-yard box but Will Johnson’s shot goes just wide to the left of Jesse Gonzalez’s goal. 

Second Half:

  • 52’ Jesus Ferreira opted for a low cross from the right flank as Paxton Pomykal came racing in, but his shot was blocked by an Orlando defender.
  • 70’ – Jesse Gonzalez used his body to save a close-range shot from Akindele, impeding a potential brace.
  • 90’ +2’ – Sacha Kljestan nutmegged Bryan Reynolds with a backheel pass and finds Carlos Ascues who just has to tap it in to double Orlando’s lead.  


FC Dallas — Jesse Gonzalez; Ryan Hollingshead, Reto Ziegler, Matt Hedges, Bressan (Bryan Reynolds – 85’); Brandon Servania (Dominique Badji – 46’), Jacori Hayes; Edwin Gyasi (Michael Barrios – 30’), Paxton Pomykal, Santiago Mosquera; Jesus Ferreira. 

Substitutes not used Jimmy Maurer, Johnny Nelson, Thomas Roberts, Edwin Cerrillo

Orlando City SC — Brian Rowe; João Moutinho, Robin Jansson, Lamine Sané, Ruan; Will Johnson (Kyle Smith – 90’+3’), Carlos Ascues, Sebastián Méndez; Tesho Akindele, Dom Dwyer (Nani – 72’), Chris Mueller (Sacha Kljestan – 54’).

Substitutes not used — Adam Grinwis, Kamal Miller, Dillon Powers, Robinho.

Scoring Summary:

ORL: Tesho Akindele (Ruan) – 13’
ORL: Carlos Ascues (Sacha Kljestan, Tesho Akindele) – 90’+2’

Misconduct Summary:
FCD: Reto Ziegler (caution) – 20’
FCD: Paxton Pomykal (caution) – 39’
FCD: Brandon Servania (caution) – 45’
ORL: Sebastián Mendez (caution) – 69’
FCD: Jesus Ferreira (caution) – 81’

Weather: Mostly Sunny, 86
Attendance: 22,479

Referee: Silviu Petrescu
Assistant Referees: Jason White, Eric Boria
4th Official: Robert Sibiga
VAR Official: Sorin Stoica