Leagues Cup

Major League Soccer, and Liga MX to Expand Leagues Cup to 16 Teams in 2020

Official qualification criteria revealed to select the eight MLS and eight Liga MX teams

NEW YORK AND MEXICO CITY – Major League Soccer (MLS) and Liga MX today reaffirmed the strength of their partnership by announcing that Leagues Cup will expand from eight teams in 2019 to 16 teams in 2020 for the new annual tournament between the top two soccer leagues in North America.

Qualifying criteria for the eight MLS clubs will be determined by the top four teams in the 2019 MLS Eastern Conference regular season standings and the top four teams in the 2019 MLS Western Conference regular season standings that will not be participating in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.

The eight Liga MX teams will include the 2019 Apertura champion, 2020 Clausura champion, 2019-20 Copa MX champion, and the next five best teams in the combined Apertura 2019-Clausura 2020 standings that have not already qualified for Leagues Cup.

Leagues Cup kicks off this Tuesday, July 23 in Chicago and Los Angeles, and Wednesday, July 24 in Houston and Salt Lake City. The Leagues Cup Final will be played September 18 at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. Leagues Cup is sanctioned by the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf). More information on Leagues Cup can be found here.