MATCH RECAP: FC Dallas 0, San Jose Earthquakes 0 | 4.27.19

Jesse Gonzalez earns second shutout of the 2019 season

  • Michael Barrios has appeared in 95 consecutive matches for FC Dallas
  • FC Dallas travels to BBVA Compass Stadium to face Houston Dynamo in the first match of the 2019 Texas Derby. Game will be broadcasted on Univision.

Frisco, Texas - FC Dallas split points with San Jose Earthquakes in a scoreless draw Saturday afternoon at Toyota Stadium.

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 1’ Bryan Acosta tested Daniel Vega in goal with a curling shot from the edge of the box but the keeper was able to punch it away.
  • 17’ – Danny Hoesen attempted to tap the ball in after connecting with Magnus Eriksson outside the six-yard box, but Jesse Gonzalez makes the block.
  • 38’ Jesus Ferreira and Paxton Pomykal exchanged quick passes on the edge of San Jose’s box to set Pomykal free but he’s unable to keep the ball in play.
  • 39’ Reggie Cannon attempted a left-footed curling shot from the edge of the box but it just went wide of Vega’s goal.
  • 40’ – Cristian Espinoza received the ball in the box from a layoff from Hoesen and forced Gonzalez to make a one-handed save to prevent San Jose from opening the scoring.


Second Half:

  • 63’ Michael Barrios broke in from the left for a shot inside the box straight on Daniel Vega in goal.
  • 66’ Ryan Hollingshead with a sizzling shot attempt from the left corner of the box just outside San Jose’s right post.
  • 71’ – Barrios inches away from scoring the first goal of the game after a low cross towards the right post from Dominique Badji.
  • 82’ Pablo Aranguiz attempted a shot from distance that Vega made a comfortable save on.  
  • 90+1’ – Valeri Qazaishvili with a curled shot outside the box that forced Jesse Gonzalez to a stretch out to make the save.


FC Dallas — Jesse González; Ryan Hollingshead, Reto Ziegler, Matt Hedges, Reggie Cannon; Bryan Acosta (Santiago Mosquera – 64’), Edwin Cerrillo, Carlos Gruezo; Paxton Pomykal (Dominique Badji – 46’), Jesús Ferreira (Pablo Aránguiz – 78’), Michael Barrios.

Substitutes not used Jimmy Maurer, Marquinhos Pedroso, Jacori Hayes, John Nelson.

San Jose Earthquakes — Daniel Vega; Nick Lima, Florian Jungwirth, Harold Cummings (Valeri Qazaishvili – 87’), Tommy Thompson; Anibal Godoy; Shea Salinas (Judson – 69’), Jackson Yueill, Magnus Eriksson (Chris Wondolowski – 83’), Cristian Espinoza; Danny Hoesen.

Substitutes not used — Andrew Tarbell, Marcos López, Paul Marie, Eric Calvillo.

Scoring Summary:


Misconduct Summary:
FCD: Michael Barrios (caution) – 43’
SJ: Anibal Godoy (caution) – 46’
SJ: Tommy Thompson (caution) – 90’+2’

Weather: Mostly Sunny, 82
Attendance: 14,087


Referee: Ramy Touchan

Assistant Referees: Kathryn Nesbitt, Gjovalin Bori

4th Official: Malik Badawi

VAR Official: Geoff Gamble