MATCH RECAP: FC Dallas 2, New York Red Bulls 1 | 2.23.19

Tournament MVP Jesus Ferreira scores in final preseason game to help FC Dallas win the Mobile Mini Sun Cup

TUCSON, Ariz. - FC Dallas defeats New York Red Bulls, 2-1, and claims the Mobile Mini Sun Cup after three straight 2-1 wins.

  • 7’ – Double save by Jimmy Maurer denying Tom Barlow the first goal of the game.
  • 22’ – Chris Lema opens the scoring for New York Red Bulls after receiving a back pass from Florian Valot at the top of the box and firing a curling shot into the top right corner.
  • 28’ – Cheeky chip attempt by Pablo Aránguiz that forces Rashid Nuhu in goal to stretch out in order to make the save.
  • 34’ – Pablo Aránguiz equalizes for Dallas from the penalty spot after he was tripped by Red Bulls goalkeeper Rashid Nuhu.
  • 43’ –  Jimmy Maurer comes off his line to make a save on a shot from Tom Barlow.
  • 43’ – Jared Stroud hits the top of the crossbar with a curled shot from outside the box.
  • 69’ Jesus Ferreira forces an acrobatic save from Rashid Nuhu
  • 77’ – Jesus Ferreira scores his second goal of the match after beating the goalkeeper with a low shot from Zdenek Ondrasek’s cutback cross.


FC Dallas — Jimmy Maurer; Marquinhos Pedroso, Moises Hernandez, Matt Hedges (Callum Montgomery), John Nelson; Paxton Pomykal, Brandon Servania (Bryan Reynolds), Thomas Roberts (Ema Twumasi); Zdenek Ondrasek (Ricardo Pepi), Jesus Ferreira, Pablo Aránguiz.

New York Red Bulls — Rashid Nuhu; Rece Buckmaster, Jordan Scarlett, Sean Nealis, Janos Loebe; Vincent Bezecourt, Chris Lema, Jean-Christophe Koffi; Jared Stroud, Tom Barlow, Florian Valot.

Scoring Summary:
NY: Chris Lema – 22’
FCD: Pablo Aránguiz (PK) – 34’
FCD: Jesus Ferreira – 77’

Misconduct Summary:
NY: Rashid Nuhu (caution)  – 33’

Weather: Sunny, 49

Referee: Nema Saghafi
Assistant Referee: TJ Zablocki
Assistant Referee: Noah Kenyawani
4th Official: Isaiah Vlad
VAR Official: Malik Badawi