USA Today Sports Images

Former FC Dallas Players Eddie Johnson, Kevin Hartman and Jeff Cunningham Nominated to National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Ballot

FRISCO - U.S. Soccer today announced the nominees for the 2018 National Soccer Hall of Fame, including three former FC Dallas players: Jeff Cunningham, Kevin Hartman and Eddie Johnson.

Out of the three former FCD stars, Johnson and Cunningham were franchise record-setting forwards and Hartman was a legendary goalkeeper in the league. Johnson is in his first year of eligibility for the National Soccer Hall of Fame while Hartman is in his second year and Cunningham in his third year of eligibility

The longest-serving FCD player on the list started with the club while still in the Dallas Burn era. Eddie Johnson started his MLS career in 2001 after being drafted in the second round of the MLS SuperDraft. He played 84 games, starting 54 of them for FCD and accumulated 24 goals and six assists.

Johnson also had 63 international call-ups with the U.S. Men’s National Team and took part in the 2006 FIFA World Cup and the winning team at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

In his second year of eligibility with the National Soccer Hall of Fame, Kevin Hartman is top five in MLS records for minutes played and shutouts in a season. Hartman played and started 83 games for FC Dallas in goal between 2010-2012.

Hartman was in goal for FCD in their run to MLS Cup in 2010 and won MLS Goalkeeper of the Year. He also appeared in CONCACAF Champions League for FCD in 2011.

Lastly, FC Dallas legend Jeff Cunningham is in this third year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame. Cunningham spent three seasons with FCD and helped the team with 11 goals on the way to the 2010 MLS Cup Final. In total, he scored 33 goals in 66 appearances with Dallas and won the 2009 MLS Golden Boot with 17 goals.

Cunningham holds the FC Dallas record for goals in one game with four vs. Kansas City on August 1, 2009. He is also fourth all-time in goals for FCD with 33 and is second in multi-goal games with seven.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame will have host Induction Weekend October 20-21 to open the doors of its new home in Frisco, Texas. The home of FC Dallas, Toyota Stadium will host the jewel of U.S. Soccer.

Voting for the National Soccer Hall of Fame inductees includes former coaches and media in U.S. Soccer. Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election.