Hall of Fame Executive Director

Djorn Buchholz Named Executive Director of the National Soccer Hall of Fame

Buchholz to Oversee the Hall of Fame’s Business Strategy

(Frisco, TX – May 25, 2017) – The U.S. Soccer Federation and FC Dallas have hired Djorn Buchholz to serve as the executive director for the National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium. Buchholz has 15 years of experience in MLS, USL and NASL team front offices. He comes to Frisco from Austin, TX where he ran his own soccer consulting firm that provided insight and operational leadership to teams, matches and large-scale tournaments.

“Djorn Buchholz has the passion for the game and strategic vision that make him the ideal person to lead our business initiatives on a global scale at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco,” said FC Dallas president Dan Hunt.

Prior to founding his consulting firm, Buchholz held a variety of leadership positions within the sport. He spent two and a half years as the CEO and Vice President of Sporting Operations for Minnesota Stars FC/Minnesota United FC. He played an integral role in increasing yearly game attendance 40% each season and exponentially growing the number of season ticket memberships. Buchholz also held leadership positions with the Austin Aztex and Sporting Kansas City.

“Our goal is to create a modern museum that brings soccer fans from all over the world to Frisco and keeps them coming back with innovative ways to showcase the beautiful game,” Buchholz said.

Buchholz starts June 5, 2017.

About the National Soccer Hall of Fame Museum
The National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium is part of a $40 million renovation at Toyota Stadium, the National Soccer Hall of Fame is a public-private partnership among FC Dallas, the City of Frisco, Frisco Independent School District and U.S. Soccer Federation.

Inaugural Hall of Fame season ticket memberships for the 2018 season start as low as $360 and feature complimentary parking, exclusive pre-game access to Toyota Stadium concerts and events as well as members-only opportunities such as Meet the Team day. Season tickets memberships are currently on sale at FCDallas.com/memberships.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame was first located in Oneonta, NY and known as the National Soccer Museum from 1979-2010. It became known as the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 1983. The facility closed in February of 2010.

In 2013, FC Dallas owners, Clark and Dan Hunt launched a campaign to bring the Hall of Fame to Frisco. Their father, Lamar Hunt, was inducted in the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 1982. In 1999, he received the Hall’s highest honor, the Medal of Honor. He remains one of only three individuals to have won the award.

Visit NationalSoccerHOF.org for more information.

Connect with the National Soccer Hall of Fame on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.