CCL Stadium

Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinal Schedule Set for Early 2017

FC Dallas to host Panamanian side CD Arabe Unido February 23 at 7 p.m. before traveling to Panama for leg two on March 1 at 7 p.m. CT

Miami (Wednesday, October 26, 2016) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) released today the schedule for the quarterfinals of the 2016/17 edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, the region’s premier competition for clubs.

The quarterfinal round will begin the evening of Tuesday, February 21, with a clash of decorated Confederation champions, when Mexican side and four-time CONCACAF Champion, CF Pachuca, visits three-time CONCACAF Champion, Deportivo Saprissa, in San Jose, at 10:00 pm ET (9:00 PM local).  

The following day, Wednesday, February 22, will feature two intra-league clashes, as Vancouver Whitecaps FC travels to the east coast to face the New York Red Bulls, at 8:00 pm ET, followed by a Liga MX battle between Tigres UANL and Pumas UNAM, in Monterrey, at 10:00 pm ET (9:00 pm local). 

The first leg of the quarterfinals culminates on Thursday, February 23, when 2016 US Open Cup and MLS Supporter Shield holder, FC Dallas, hosts Panamanian side CD Arabe Unido, at 8:00 pm ET (7:00 pm local). 

The second legs of the quarterfinals will take place between February 28 and March 2nd, beginning with CF Pachuca against Deportivo Saprissa, at 10:00 pm ET (9:00 pm local), on Tuesday. 

Wednesday will feature two matches -- CD Arabe Unido will host FC Dallas, in Panama City at 8:00 pm ET (8:00 pm local) and Pumas UNAM will face Tigres UANL, in Mexico City, at 10:00 pm ET (9:00 PM local). 

The quarterfinals wrap up in Cascadia, when top-ranked Vancouver Whitecaps FC hosts the return leg of its series versus the New York Red Bulls at BC Place, at 10:00 pm ET (7:00 pm local). 

Twenty-four clubs from across the Confederation began the quest for the crown in this season’s Champions League group phase, played between August and October, with the top team from each of the eight three-team groups advancing to the knockout round.

Following the completion of group play, the eight group-topping teams were re-seeded 1-8, based on the number of points they achieved in the group stage, and using goal difference as the tie-breaker among teams tied with the same amount of points. In the case of seventh-place FC Dallas and eight-place New York Red Bulls, which both finished on 8 points with a plus-4 goal differential, goals scored in group play became the tie-breaker.

1.    Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN) -- 12 pts. / +8 GD
2.    CD Arabe Unido (PAN) -- 12 pts. / +7 GD
3.    CF Pachuca (MEX) -- 10 pts. / +15 GD
4.    Pumas UNAM (MEX) -- 9 pts. / + 10 GD
5.    Tigres UANL (MEX) -- 9 pts. / +6 GD
6.    Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) -- 8 pts. / +8 GD
7.    FC Dallas (USA) -- 8 pts. / + 4 GD
8.    New York Red Bulls (USA) -- 8 pts. / +4 GD

The provisional range of dates for the first leg of each of the semifinals, to be disputed among the four semifinal winners, is March 14-16, 2017. The return legs will be played from April 4-6.

The winner of the Vancouver Whitecaps FC – New York Red Bulls quarterfinal will face the winner of the Pumas UNAM – Tigres UANL quarterfinal in the semifinals. The victorious club in the matchup between Arabe Unido and FC Dallas will face off against the winner of the CF Pachuca – Deportivo Saprissa pairing in the other semifinal.

The home-and-away Finals series between the two semifinal winners will be disputed during the last two weeks of April of 2017.

The Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League is the region’s most prestigious club tournament, qualifying its champion directly to the FIFA Club World Cup. The winner of this edition of the competition will participate in the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

More information on the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, including team-by-team capsules and in-depth statistics and analysis, can be found at The full schedule can be accessed below, and by clicking here.

Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2016/17 Quarterfinals 1st Leg Schedule

*ET (local time)

Tuesday, February 21, 2017
10:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m.) Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) vs. CF Pachuca (MEX)
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
8:00 p.m. (8:00 p.m.) New York Red Bulls (USA) vs. Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN)
10:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m.) Tigres UANL (MEX) vs. Pumas UNAM (MEX)

Thursday, February 23, 2017
8:00 p.m. (7:00 p.m.) FC Dallas (USA) vs. CD Arabe Unido (PAN)

Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2016/17 Quarterfinals 2nd Leg Schedule

*ET (local time)

Tuesday, February 28, 2017
10:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m.) CF Pachuca (MEX) vs. Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)

Wednesday, March 1, 2017
8:00 p.m. (8:00 p.m.) CD Arabe Unido (PAN) vs. FC Dallas (USA)
10:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m.) Pumas UNAM (MEX) vs. Tigres UANL (MEX)

Thursday, March 2, 2017
10:00 p.m. (7:00 p.m.) Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN) vs. New York Red Bulls (USA)

CONCACAF Champions League home stadiums for Quarterfinal Round

*In alphabetical order

CD Arabe Unido (PAN) – Estadio Maracana, Panama City, Panama
CF Pachuca (MEX) – Estadio Hidalgo, Pachuca. Mexico
Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) – Estadio Ricardo Saprissa, San Jose, Costa Rica
FC Dallas (USA) – Toyota Stadium, Frisco, TX, USA
New York Red Bulls (USA) – Red Bull Arena, Harrison, NJ, USA
Pumas UNAM (MEX) – Estadio Olímpico Universitario, Mexico City, Mexico
Tigres UANL (MEX) – Estadio Universitario, Monterrey, Mexico
Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN) – BC Place, BC, Canada