walk of fame 11

Nominations being accepted for FC Dallas Walk of Fame

FRISCO – Know someone who has made extraordinary contributions to soccer in Texas? FC Dallas is accepting nominations for the 2012 Walk of Fame class now through Aug. 24.

The Walk of Fame at FC Dallas Stadium is a stretch of soccer history with various commemorative markers recognizing members of the soccer community who have been instrumental in helping build the sport in Texas.

The Walk of Fame opened in 2005 with an inaugural class that included soccer giants Lamar Hunt, Gordon Jago, Carla Overbeck, Kyle Rote Jr., Tatu and Bill Kinder. Since 2005, the group has grown to include 16 members, including current FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman as well as former FC Dallas players Oscar Pareja and the late Bobby Rhine.

Following the Aug. 24 nomination deadline, a nomination committee, including previous Walk of Fame finalists, will review all 2012 nominees to narrow the candidate list down to three finalists. A four-person selection committee will then vote to enshrine one inductee into the 2012 class. FC Dallas Stadium will host the official enshrinement ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 28, prior to kickoff between FC Dallas and Chivas USA for the team’s final regular-season home match.

For more information on the Walk of Fame or to submit a nomination, visit fcdallas.com/walk-of-fame.



A coach, player, soccer administrator or other soccer contributor who has made extraordinary contributions to soccer in Texas, which have significantly enhanced and helped the sport grow.


Male and female nominees will be considered. All eligible candidates will be considered whether living or deceased. No person on the Nominating or Selection Committees may be considered for Enshrinement.

  1. Coach: A coach does not have to be retired to be eligible.
  2. Player: A player must be fully retired for at least two years from professional soccer before being eligible for Enshrinement. He/She may then be considered for Enshrinement in the third year of retirement.
  3. Contributors/Administrators: A person is eligible for Enshrinement as a contributor or administrator at any time for significant contributions to the game of soccer. What constitutes “significant contributions” shall be determined by the Nominating and/or Selection Committees.



Lamar Hunt, Gordon Jago, Bill Kinder, Carla Overbeck, Kyle Rote Jr., and Tatu


Jeff Agoos and Ron Newman


Kenny Cooper Sr. and Schellas Hyndman


Neil Cohen and Bobby Moffatt


Jimmy Benedek


Richard “Dick” Hall

Oscar Pareja
Bobby Rhine


The Walk of Fame is a stretch of soccer history at FC Dallas Stadium that includes commemorative markers with plaques recognizing members of the soccer community and key events that have been instrumental in helping build the sport of soccer in Texas.  This unique landmark is not only a tribute to those who have dedicated much of their lives to the sport of soccer, but is also a point of historical interest for all fans visiting the facility.