FCD Chicago 2003

Brimstone Cup: a history

Brimstone Cup History (shaded section denotes results before official designation in 2001):

2011 FC Dallas 3 2 The teams tied 1-1 in the first meeting in Dallas, but a 2-1 win by FCD at Chicago meant the Brimstone Cup returned to Dallas for the tenth straight year.
2010 FC Dallas 4 1 Despite missing several starters, FC Dallas clinches their first playoff berth since 2007 with a 3-0 win over the visiting Fire to decide that season's Brimstone Cup. Milton Rodriguez, Marvin Chavez and Jeff Cunningham score in the rout, and Cunningham's tally ties him with Jamie Moreno for first on the all-time MLS career scoring list.
2009 None (FCD retains) 3 3 FCD and Chicago tie, with each earning 3 points on the other's home field. Kenny Cooper notches a noteworthy goal in the first leg, scoring off a long-range bomb from beyond midfield.
2008 FC Dallas 6 0 FC Dallas dominates the series, and Cunningham scores two at Chicago in the second leg to ice the overall win for Dallas.
2007 FC Dallas 4 1 FC Dallas heads into Leg 2 at home with a one goal lead, but Chicago quickly evens the score on their home turf. As the second half winds down, the series appears headed for a tie -- that is, until FCD's Carlos Ruiz nets a goal in stoppage time to seal the series win and retain the Cup for Dallas once again.
2006 FC Dallas 6 0 The Brimstone Cup opens up the 2006 season at Pizza Hut Park. Dallas wins 3-2 to take a slim lead into Chicago, where they are forced to make a come-from-behind effort to win the trophy outright for the third straight year.
2005 FC Dallas 6 3 FCD and Chicago split the regular season, making their US Open Cup matchup the deciding game. Ronnie O'Brien nets in the first Brimstone Cup held at Pizza Hut Park to give FCD the win and the trophy.
2004 Dallas Burn 6 0 Dallas dominates the regular season matchups, outscoring Chicago 6-1 overall and notching their second official Brimstone Cup victory.
2003 None (Dallas retains) 3 3 In the midst of the worst season in club history, Dallas loses the first leg but fights back in the second to tie the series and retain the Cup. The showing of heart in the Leg 2 win also marks the debut of new Dallas head coach Colin Clarke.
2002 Dallas Burn 6 0 Dallas wins at Chicago for the first time in club history, beginning the current run of nine straight years of ownership of the Brimstone Cup.
2001 Chicago Fire 5 11 The first official year of the Brimstone Cup brings high drama, with Dallas player Lubos Kubic earning a straight red card from the warm-up area during the final regular season matchup of the two teams. The Cup is decided in the playoffs, where Chicago beats Dallas 2-0-1 in the three game series to earn the victory and the first official Brimstone Cup title.
2000 Chicago Fire 6 9 Dallas and Chicago meet five times during the regular season (including one USOC match) and Chicago wins three of the five. Dallas had a chance to win the second leg, which would have been the first win in Chicago, but fell in overtime despite a 3-1 lead and being up a man for much of the match.
1999 Dallas Burn 12 9 The regular season ended with two wins apiece for the respective sides, meaning that a three-game playoff series would decide the outcome. Dallas won the first and third games to advance to the next round, but it was the second leg that is best remembered. During a 4-0 Chicago win, Fire defender Dema Kovalenko made a late challenge against Dallas defender Brandon Pollard, breaking Pollard's leg and adding considerable fuel to the future Brimstone Cup rivalry.
1998 Chicago Fire 3 9 Many consider the August 4, 1998 USOC semifinal match in New Orleans to be the beginning of the Dallas-Chicago rivalry. Dallas was the defending US Open Cup champion, and Chicago's 3-2 victory knocked them out of the tourney. The hotly contested match featured three red cards (two to Chicago and one to Dallas) and sparked the rivalry between the two sides. They would meet one more time in 1998 during the MLS regular season, where perhaps the most dramatic moment in the history of the series occurred. Down 2-0 early, Dallas fought back to tie the score at 2. With only 20 seconds left on the clock, Dallas brings the ball the length of the field, where Zarco Rodriguez scored with only two seconds left to win the game. The goal is one of the most famous in Dallas club history.