Best XI

Brek Shea named to MLS Best XI

FRISCO, Texas – MLS Commissioner Don Garber announced the 2011 MLS Best XI today, which included FC Dallas midfielder Brek Shea. The Best XI annually recognizes the League’s top 11 players at each position on the field.

Shea is the fourth FC Dallas player in the last four years to be named to the league's Best XI, following in the footsteps of David Ferreira in 2010, Jeff Cunningham in 2009 and Kenny Cooper in 2008.

After turning 21 in February, Shea emerged as a rising star for FC Dallas in 2011, helping the club reach the MLS Cup Playoffs despite losing 2010 MLS MVP David Ferreira to injury in April. Shea orchestrated the FC Dallas attack, supplying 11 goals and four assists while appearing in 31 games, starting 30. Shea made his U.S. Men’s National Team debut on October 12, 2010 and has one assist in six appearances this year.

Shea is currently with the U.S. National Team preparing for a friendly against France in Paris on Friday, Nov. 11. Kickoff at the famed Stade de France is set for 2 p.m. CT (9 p.m. local time), and the match will be broadcast live on ESPN2, ESPN3, Univision and Following the match against France, Shea will travel to Slovenia with the team for a second exhibition scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 15. Coverage from Stozice Stadium in Ljubljana begins at 12 p.m. CT (6 p.m. local) on ESPN2, ESPN3 and Galavision.

Shea will remain in Europe following the two U.S. fixtures to join English Premier League side Arsenal FC for a month as a guest before returning home to Dallas in December.

About MLS Best XI

This year players, club leaders, and media members voted one goalkeeper, three defenders, five midfielders and two forwards to the Best XI, listed below by alphabetical order within each position:

2011 MLS Best XI

Goalkeeper – Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC)

Defender – Todd Dunivant (LA Galaxy)

Defender – Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)

Defender – Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

Midfielder – David Beckham (LA Galaxy)

Midfielder – Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo)

Midfielder – Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)

Midfielder – Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)

Midfielder – Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Forward – Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)

Forward – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)