Brek Shea

24 Under 24: Shea finishes No. 1 in fan vote

The fans love Brek Shea these days.

That was the final verdict of a week-long fan ballot on Facebook which established the FC Dallas and US national team winger as the No. 1 MLS player under the age of 24.

FC Dallas was also represented on the list by Fabian Castillo, who came in at number 18. Castillo is in his first year in MLS and spent time representing Colombia this summer at the U-20 World Cup.

Shea was followed up by fellow US national team players: No. 2 Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), No. 3 Freddy Adu (Philadelphia Union) and No. 4 Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City). Seattle Sounders winger Steve Zakuani rounds out the Top 5 list.

The Philadelphia Union contributed the most players to the fans’ 24 Under 24 rankings with a quarter of the list made up of Union players. A total of 15 clubs were represented, including three players for D.C. United.’s official 24 Under 24 is determined by an expert panel of nine of the most respected national observers, whose votes were tallied along with that of the editorial staff for the final rankings.

The names of the players ranked No. 20 through No. 24 will be unveiled throughout the day on Tuesday with profiles that also show how the fans voted by comparison. 24 Under 24 Fan Vote

1 -- Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

2 -- Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls)

3 -- Freddy Adu (Philadelphia Union)

4 -- Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City)

5 -- Steve Zakuani (Seattle Sounders)

6 -- Juninho (LA Galaxy)

7 -- Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)

8 -- Bill Hamid (D.C. United)

9 -- Andy Najar (D.C. United)

10 -- Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers)

11 -- Roger Torres (Philadelphia Union)

12 -- C.J. Sapong (Sporting Kansas City)

13 -- Sanna Nyassi (Colorado Rapids)

14 -- Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo)

15 -- Perry Kitchen (D.C. United)

16 -- Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake)

17 -- Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)

18 -- Fabián Castillo (FC Dallas)

19 -- Omar Salgado (Vancouver Whitecaps)

20 -- Jack McInerney (Philadelphia Union)

21 -- Michael Farfan (Philadelphia Union)

22 -- Joao Plata (Toronto FC)

23 -- Gabriel Farfan (Philadelphia Union)

24 -- Sainey Nyassi (New England Revolution)