WPSL: FC Dallas closes out season with 2-1 win

FRISCO, Texas -- The battle for second place in the Big-Sky South division was waged Tuesday night at Dr. Pink Field between FC Dallas WPSL and the Fort Worth Panthers, ending with a 2-1 Dallas victory.

FCD dodged an early hole when the Panthers appeared to notch the game’s first goal in the first minute, but the play was called offside.

The first half’s only goal came in the 17th minute from Dallas midfielder Teresa Eamma, who chipped in the ball from about eight yards out.

Fort Worth had a chance to knot the score in the 35th minute. A Panthers midfielder got Dallas goalkeeper Magen Ross to come far enough off her goal line to get a shot past her, but the ball rolled along the goal line and out of play for a goal kick.

The Panthers managed to keep the score close in the second half. And in the 55th minute, Fort Worth tied the match when forward Maddie Hamm sent a well-struck ball from outside the box into the Dallas goal.

But throughout the second half, FCD forward Michelle Young continually caused problems for Fort Worth.

The speedy Young made run after run by the Panthers defenders, but couldn’t put the ball past goalkeeper Lauren Wysoski. In the 48th minute Young missed low to the far post by inches and in the 71st minute she shot a ball that was blocked by Wysoski.

It wasn’t until the 87th minute, with the game tied 1-1, that Young’s efforts were rewarded.

Eamma threaded the ball between multiple Panthers defenders and found Young, who made one last gallop to the Fort Worth goal. Despite having a defender matching her stride for stride, Young released an arching shot high to the near post and scored the game-winning goal.

With the win, FCD closed its inaugural season with a record of 8-3 and leapfrogged Fort Worth to finish second behind division-winner Oklahoma City Alliance in the Big-Sky South. Dallas finished the season with a 5-1 home record at Dr. Pink Field.

Scoring Summary:
FCD – Eamma 17’
FWP – Hamm 55’
FCD – Young 87’

Misconduct Summary:

FC Dallas WPSL Starters: Ross, Flanagan, Stoner, Davenport, Ross, Demarco, Eamma, Shipley, Mendoza, Briggs, Young