Dallas Cup Champions
Scott Brown

96 Premier team wins Dallas Cup U-15 Championship

FRISCO, Texas – The FC Dallas 96 Boys Premier team are Dallas Cup Champions after defeating Solar SC 2-0 in the final game of the Under-15 bracket of Dallas Cup XXXII Saturday evening. The 97 Boys Premier team brought home silver after falling to California club Fullerton Ranger 5-4 in penalty kicks in the Under-14 Championship.


The 97s played in the first Championship match of the day, and it would prove to be a goalkeeper duel. Both sides remained scoreless through regulation and two 10-minute overtime periods despite several quality chances for each squad, meaning the final came down to penalty kicks. The Fullerton ‘keeper was just one save better, as he managed to hold onto the second FC Dallas shot of the PK round, sealing the championship for the West Coast side.

It was a bitter end for an FC Dallas side that had won all five of their Dallas Cup matches heading into the final Saturday afternoon. The squad was one of the first FC Dallas teams to ever make it into a Dallas Cup final.

97 starting lineup: Flores, Korleski, Volkert, Ocampo, Bradford, Gonzalez, Salas, Benitez, Ojeda, Ramirez, Amaro.
Substitutes: Williams, Torres, Sahinkaya, Rochowski, McKennie, Mata, Lara, Luna.

The other FC Dallas team to make it to a Dallas Cup final was the 96s, who kicked off immediately following the conclusion of the U-14 trophy presentation. The match started out fairly even, but once the scoring started the confidence of the FC Dallas side was clearly boosted as they began to dominate in both possession and chances.

The first goal of the game came in the 27th minute by Antonio Aguilar. Aguilar sent in a shot from just outside the right corner of the box that dipped just under the crossbar and over the jumping ‘keeper’s hand to give FC Dallas a 1-0 lead in the first half.

Aguilar would double the lead by earning himself a brace in the 46th minute after heading home a cross from teammate Nico Lozada-Smith. FC Dallas had several other chances as the game wore on, but all were turned aside by the Solar goalkeeper.

The final whistle blew just before 7:00 p.m., making the 96 Boys Premier team the first FC Dallas team to ever win a Dallas Cup championship. The squad, who were not named as tournament participants until a day and a half before Dallas Cup XXXII began last Sunday, lived up to head coach Scott Dymond’s week-long mantra of “Last team in, last team standing.”

96 starting lineup: Raine, Rosales, Mendoza, Montemayor, Reid, Lozada-Smith, Hernandez, Sanchez, Aguilar, Dmitriakov, Gardner.
Substitutes: Burns, Norris, Miller, Apple, Garcia, Madden, French.