Jason Minnick

Match Recap: Tigres 5, U-18s 0

FRISCO, Texas – After sweeping their Dallas Cup Super Group bracket, the FC Dallas U-18 Academy team fell to Tigres of Mexico by a score of 5-0 in the tournament semifinals at Pizza Hut Park Friday night. Tigres will next face Eintracht Frankfurt, who defeated Arsenal 2-0 in the night’s first semifinal match, in the championship game Sunday evening.


The Mexican side tested FC Dallas goalkeeper Eduardo Cortes early, forcing him to make a standing save from the right side of his box in the seventh minute. The next two quality chances of the match would belong to Home Grown midfielder Bryan Leyva.

In the 24th minute Leyva ripped a shot from the top of the Tigres box that nailed the top half of the crossbar to deflect out of play. In the 29th minute he produced another chance, but his shot to the right side of the goal was deflected wide by the hand of the diving goalkeeper.

Two minutes later the first goal of the match would be found by Tigres’ Victor Garza, who stripped the Dallas defense of the ball in their own box before firing a shot past Cortes. The first half goal was the first time the U-18s trailed an opponent all week.

After the half the Mexican club’s offensive output became too much for FC Dallas to battle back from. United States U-20 midfielder Moises Orozco scored Tigres' second goal of the night in the 47th minute, and the lead grew to three after Oscar Montoya buried one in the 64th.

The final two goals of the night would come in the final 10 minutes by substitute Luis Castillo, who came on for Garza in the 67th minute. Castillo scored his first in the 84th off a long-range chip shot from just inside the half that bounced in over Cortes. His brace came in the 86th minute to earn the 5-0 win for Tigres and advance the club to the Super Group final on Sunday evening against Eintracht Frankfurt.


Scoring Summary:
TIG – Garza 31’
TIG – M. Orozco 47’
TIG – Montoya 64’
TIG – Castillo 84’
TIG – Castillo 86’

FC Dallas – Cortes, Okwuonu, Coleman (Hagan 72’), Hernandez, Ambrose, Ulloa, Robledo (Ramirez 56’), Leyva, Perez (Pinal 5’), Garcia (Gamino 67’), Top.

Tigres – Ruiz (Medina 80’), Ramirez, Fuentes, Arreguin, Montoya, Santos, M. Orozco (Pastrana 72’), Garza (Castillo 67’), Campoy (Gattaz 62’), E. Orozco, Cavazos (Perez 46’).