Tigres recap
Eric Segura

FC Dallas falls 2-1 to Tigres in Monterrey

MONTERREY, Mexico - FC Dallas stormed back to tie its Rio Grande Plate partners 1-1 in the 53rd minute on a spectacular goal by Andrew Wiedeman, but Tigres stood tall at home, getting a game-winner from Francisco Acuna in the 82nd minute to defeat the MLS side 2-1 in Monterrey, Mexico Wednesday night.

Tigres held a distinct advantage in possession early on and made FC Dallas pay in the 14th minute when Eric Avila held up Alberto Acosta on Tigres’ left flank. Acosta took the free kick following the foul, playing a perfect ball in for Carlos Acosta to redirect onto goal. Seemingly unmarked, Acosta stepped back to the penalty mark before nodding a shot that smacked the inside of the far post and dribbled into the net behind goalkeeper Chris Seitz.

FC Dallas enjoyed its first real taste of the ball following the goal by Tigres. The best opportunity of the next 10 minutes belonged to Avila, who went around multiple defenders on the near touchline. Unfortunately, Avila’s off-balance cross was quickly gobbled up by Tigres goalkeeper Cirilo Saucedo.

Tigres fired right back in the 28th minute, but this time they were denied by Chris Seitz. On the play, Jesus Molina collected a loose ball and crushed a volley to the far post from 30-yards out. The shot dipped hard on its way to the back post, only to be intercepted by Seitz, who dove backwards to tip the shot over the crossbar.

Avila was back again in the 40th minute. He outmuscled two defenders on the flank before turning inside and combining with Eric Alexander to free up a shot from Andrew Jacobson. Jacobson cut through a pack of defenders and ripped a line drive at Saucedo, who fought off the shot, somehow pushing it just wide of the right post.

A different FC Dallas team took the field in the second half, both literally and in mentality. FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman made five substitutions at the half, but the most important move was the choice to attack. Dallas opened the second half on the offensive and Andrew Wiedeman showed no hesitation after taking over for Alexander on the left flank.

Accepting a pass from Jacobson, Wiedeman cut hard to the inside and let a rocket go from 35-yards. The rising line-drive to the back post caught Saucedo off guard and whizzed past his outstretched hand and into the far side netting in the 53rd minute.

FC Dallas continued to win the midfield battle through the 76th minute, but not much further. A quick Tigres counter-attack ushered the ball wide to Acosta, who whipped a precise shot to the far post. Acuna got the better angle on his marker and roofed a one-touch finish past goalkeeper Josh Lambo, who was a second away from smothering the shot just as the three players came together.

Scoring Summary:
TIG – Carlos Ochoa (Alberto Acosta) 14
DAL – Andrew Wiedeman (Andrew Jacobson) 53
TIG - Francisco Acuna (Acosta) 82

Misconduct Summary:
DAL – Andrew Jacobson (caution, dissent) 69

FC Dallas –
Chris Seitz (Josh Lambo 46), Jair Benitez, Brek Shea (George John 88), Ugo Ihemelu (trialist 46), Zach Loyd, Daniel Hernandez (Bruno Guarda 46), Eric Avila (Bobby Warshaw 46), Ricardo Villar, Andrew Jacobson, Eric Alexander (Andrew Wiedeman 46), Ruben Luna (Peri Marosevic 72).

Tigres – Cirilo Saucedo, Anselmo Junior, Hugo Ayala, Jesus Molina, Danilo Veron, Antonio Sancho, Francisco Acuna, Carlos Ochoa, Jose Rivas, Omar Trujillo (Jesus Duenas 77), Alberto Acosta.

Subs not used: David Toledo, Antonio Zacarias, Enrique Palos, Aaron Fernandez, Leo Morales, Pablo Ocegueda.