FC Dallas 3, SMU 1
Jason Minnick

Match Recap: FC Dallas 3, SMU 1

FRISCO, Texas -- FC Dallas cruised to a 3-1 win over SMU in a friendly preseason scrimmage Friday night at Pizza Hut Park Field 4.

The Mustangs, which finished 2010 ranked eighth nationally in Division I collegiate soccer, got on the board in the 15th minute after the side’s initial shot was cleared back into the area and deflected in for the match’s first score.

WATCH: FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman reviews the team's performance

Despite the early goal, possession and run of play stayed firmly in favor of the home side, and in the 18th minute FC Dallas equalized. Jair Benitez slid a blind pass to Brek Shea on the left side and Shea crossed the ball to Milton Rodriguez, who headed it home for the finish.

With a fresh XI on the field for the second half, FC Dallas pushed ahead in the 56th minute when a ball caromed off Maykel Galindo and fell to Ruben Luna’s feet. Luna buried the chance for a decisive 2-1 lead.

WATCH: Ruben Luna talks about his goal vs. SMU

In the 77th minute, Luna received the ball with his back to the goal, then played a ball in behind the defense to the corner flag, and Bim Ogunyemi drilled a low, hard shot past the keeper for the third and final FC Dallas score of the night.

“We made some changes during the break and I think we looked a lot better in the second half,” head coach Schellas Hyndman said. “That says a lot about our young guys – our Home Grown players. Now we head to Florida for a week and we have some decisions to make.”

WATCH: Team captain Daniel Hernandez gives his thoughts on FCD's decisive victory

FCD: Kevin Hartman, Jackson, Zach Loyd, Alexis Pradie, Jair Benitez, Daniel Hernandez, Marvin Chavez, David Ferreira, Eric Alexander, Brek Shea, Milton Rodriguez

SMU: Juan Robles, Ryan Rosenbaum, Adam Still, Diogod Almeida, Ian Kalis, Arthur Ivo, Max Rockwell, Zach Barnes, Robbie Derschang, TJ Nelson, Juan Castillo

FCD 2nd half: Chris Seitz, Andrew Wiedeman (Victor Ulloa 70), Bobby Warshaw, Scott Gordon, Moises Hernandez, Eric Avila, Bruno Martins (Bim Ogunyemi 70), Bruno Guarda, Bryan Leyva (Alexis Pradie 70), Maykel Galindo (Peri Marosevic 70), Ruben Luna