Zakuani in 2009
Getty Images

Zakuani, Bunbury among 26 MLSers called up

Twenty-six MLS players have been called up to international duty in this week's FIFA fixture date, though two will not report for their countries.

MLS Rookie of the Year Andy Najar declined an invitation from the Honduran national team, while New England Revolution winger Kenny Mansally will not travel to Hebron due to a cancellation of Gambia's scheduled match against Palestine.

The US lead the way in MLS call ups, with Bob Bradley calling nine players into camp. Three of them will be earning their first cap for the Nats: 17-year-old striker Juan Agudelo's strong performance against the San Jose Earthquakes in the Eastern Conference semifinals earned him a look, while teammate Tim Ream will make the trip after being edged out by Najar for top rookie honors. Teal Bunbury has caused a stir, as the Hamilton, Ontario, native has seemingly decided not to represent Canada.

Like Bunbury, the Seattle Sounders' Steve Zakuani was faced with a choice of which national team to represent. The winger has made that decision and will represent the country of his birth, the Democratic Republic of Congo, in their match against Mali in the Parisian suburb of Evreux.

In Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., Jamaica and Costa Rica square off, and the two teams have called four and two MLSers, respectively. Lining up for the Reggae Boyz, Dane Richards will face New York Red Bulls teammate Roy Miller.

Sunil Chhetri's availability is in doubt for India's Thursday clash against the United Arab Emirates in Dubai. The Kansas City Wizards forward missed out on the team's last two matches, a 2-0 loss to Iraq on Nov. 11 and a 9-1 blowout at the hands of Kuwait on Sunday.


Chicago Fire: Logan Pause (USA)

Chivas USA: Jonathan Bornstein (USA), Giancarlo Maldonado (Venezuela), Michael Umana (Costa Rica)

Columbus Crew: Eddie Gaven (USA), Brian Carroll (USA), Robbie Rogers (USA), Shaun Francis (Jamaica)

D.C. United: Andy Najar (Honduras, declined call-up)

Houston Dynamo: Lovel Palmer (Jamaica)

Kansas City Wizards: Roger Espinoza (Honduras), Sunil Chhetri (India), Teal Bunbury (USA), Shavar Thomas (Jamaica)

New England Revolution: Kenny Mansally (Gambia; fixture vs. Palestine canceled)

New York Red Bulls: Roy Miller (Costa Rica), Bouna Coundoul (Senegal), Tim Ream (USA), Juan Agudelo (USA), Dane Richards (Jamaica)

Philadelphia Union: Alejandro Moreno (Venezuela)

Real Salt Lake: Nat Borchers (USA), Robbie Findley (USA), Jean Alexandre (Haiti)

Seattle Sounders: Steve Zakuani (Congo)

Toronto FC: O'Brian White (Jamaica)