Schellas Hyndman has been named Coach of the Year.

MLS tabs FC Dallas skipper Schellas Hyndman as its 2010 Coach of the Year

FRISCO, Texas (Nov. 11, 2010) – After just two and a half seasons at the helm, FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman has earned MLS Coach of the Year honors for guiding his side to a record-breaking season.

WATCH: Schellas Hyndman is congratulated by FC Dallas players and staff

Hyndman, who was hired by FC Dallas on June 16, 2008, guided FC Dallas to a league-record 19-game unbeaten streak from May through October en route to the team’s first playoff appearance since 2007. This weekend FC Dallas travels to Los Angeles to take on the Galaxy for the Western Conference Championship, marking the franchise’s first conference final appearance in 11 years.

FC Dallas finished the 2010 regular season with a 12-4-14 mark, recording the fewest losses in FC Dallas history and tying the San Jose Earthquakes (2005) and Real Salt Lake (2010) for fewest all-time in an MLS season. Hyndman’s squad also set a league mark for a road unbeaten streak with 12 games.

Before taking the helm at FC Dallas, Hyndman recorded an all-time college record of 466-122-49, including a 368-98-38 mark in 24 seasons at SMU. In his 31 years as a college head coach, Hyndman led his schools to 30 NCAA playoff appearances, 11 quarterfinals and five final fours. He was named National Coach of the Year in 1981 and was tabbed league Coach of the Year eight times (WAC:  1997, 1998, 1999; MVC:  2000, 2001, 2002, 2004; C-USA:  2006).
MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – Los Angeles Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire  
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United  
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny