David Ferreira voted MVP by NASR.
Rick Yeatts

David Ferreira tabbed NASR Player of the Year

FRISCO, Texas (Nov. 3, 2010) – The North American Soccer Reporters named David Ferreira its 2010 Major League Soccer Player of the Year on Wednesday.

Ferreira, a finalist for MLS Volkswagen Most Valuable Player, has turned heads all season long as an MVP candidate with eight goals and 13 assists (second only to L.A.’s Landon Donovan). On Saturday, Oct. 30, the dynamic midfielder helped FC Dallas to a 2-1 win in the first leg of its Western Conference Semifinal versus Real Salt Lake.

Ferreira and FC Dallas (12-4-14, 50 points) ended the MLS season with the fewest losses by a team in league history. The team also set league records for the longest road unbeaten streak (12 games) and longest overall unbeaten streak (19 games) in a single season.

The NASR is the professional association of journalists who cover the sport in print, online, on television and radio.

Ferreira was named Player of the Year after collecting 67 percent of the votes on the second ballot. New York Red Bulls manager Hans Backe was named Coach of the Year after collecting 65 percent of the vote on the first ballot.

San Jose’s Chris Wondolowski and FC Dallas’ Schellas Hyndman were runners-up. Ferreira and Wondolowski tied on the first ballot both in first and second choices, prompting the unique run-off to decide the winner.

Full ballots will be posted on the NASR’s website later today (www.soccerreporters.com).

FC Dallas travels to Utah this weekend for the second leg at Rio Tinto Stadium. For more information, or to follow FC Dallas in its quest for the MLS Cup, visit FCDallas.com/playoffs.