Getty Images

23 MLSers called up for international duty

Still feeling that World Cup hangover? Never fear, because starting Friday is a week of FIFA action to sate your thirst for international fixtures.

And though the race to the MLS playoffs surges on, several league players have answered their country’s call.

The New York Red Bulls have had four of their players called up, including Mexico captain Rafa Márquez, who just last week penned a letter to the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Asociación stating that he did not want to be called up until there was “a change in attitude” at Federation.

Also missing for the Red Bulls are starters Dane Richards and Bouna Coundoul.

Richards, along with four other MLS players, will report to the Jamaican national team to take on Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday in Kingston, Jamaica.

Coundoul, meanwhile, will travel to Dakar as Senegal host Mauritius on Saturday in an African Nations Cup qualifier. Both players will miss Saturday’s clash against Real Salt Lake though Márquez will be available.

Trinidad and Tobago, meanwhile, are calling up three MLS players for the match against the Reggae Boyz, including D.C. United defender Julius James.

James’ absence could be difficult for United to handle, as fellow defender Dejan Jakovic will join Canada for their match against Ukraine in Kiev. Also leaving the Nation's Capital is midfielder Branko Boskovic, who will join Montenegro for their Euro Cup qualifiers against Switzerland in Podgorica and England at Wembley stadium.

Heath Pearce and Brek Shea are the only Americans missing from MLS camps for the international dates, but they will still play for FC Dallas this weekend before joining the U.S. squad for Tuesday’s friendly against Colombia in Philadelphia.

Full list of MLS call-ups

Chivas USA: Darío Delgado (Costa Rica)

Columbus Crew: Shaun Francis (Jamaica), Emilio Rentería (Venezuela)

FC Dallas: Heath Pearce (USA), Brek Shea (USA)

D.C. United: Branko Boskovic (Montenegro), Julius James (Trinidad and Tobago), Dejan Jakovic (Canada)

Kansas City Wizards: Sunil Chhetri (India), Shavar Thomas (Jamaica)

New England Revolution: Sainey Nyassi (Gambia), Kenny Mansally (Gambia)

New York Red Bulls: Rafa Márquez (Mexico), Andrew Boyens (New Zealand), Dane Richards (Jamaica), Bouna Coundoul (Senegal)

Los Angeles Galaxy: Yohance Marshall (Trinidad and Tobago)

Philadelphia Union: Alejandro Moreno (Venezuela)

San Jose Earthquakes: Cornell Glen (Trinidad and Tobago), Arturo Alvarez (El Salvador), Ryan Johnson (Jamaica)

Seattle Sounders: Sanna Nyassi (Gambia)

Toronto FC: O’Brian White (Jamaica)