Michael Johnson Performance

The Michael Johnson Performance Center was opened in 2007 by President and Founder Michael Johnson, a four-time Olympic gold medal-winning sprinter. Johnson, a native of Dallas, wanted to create a facility that focused on performance training and increasing an athlete's speed, agility, power, flexibility and quickness. The Center's primary focus group is athletes between the ages of 10 and 18 years old, but it also caters to college and professional athletes.

FC Dallas first saw the benefit of using MJP for its performance and conditioning training after several players using MJP for supplemental training saw great results. The decision to join forces was an easy one -- and now, the partnership is a lasting one. In May 2011, MJP and FC Dallas signed a three-year partnership to continue providing players with world class performance training.

FCD makes two trips out to MJP each week to work with its coaches on regeneration and preparation training. MJP sends a coach out to FC Dallas Stadium every day as part of their training program. MJP also has a coach at every FCD home game to conduct warm-ups.

See what MJP is all about:

For more information about the Michael Johnson Performance Center, visit our website or call us at 469-424-6572.

The Michael Johnson Performer of the Match is awarded to the player who most embodies the elite athleticism, determination and work ethic that the Michael Johnson Performance Center stands for. At the end of the year the player with the most Performer of the Match awards will be named the Performer of the Season. Previous winners include Kenny Cooper in 2008, Jeff Cunningham in 2009, MLS MVP David Ferreira in 2010, Brek Shea in 2011 and Blas Perez in 2012.

2013 Michael Johnson Performer of the Season: Blas Perez

Performance Summary: Following up on his 2012 Performer of the Season win, Blas Perez becomes the first two-time Performer of the Season after reclaiming the honor in 2013. Perez led FC Dallas in scoring with 11 goals on the season and the Panamanian international also chipped in three assists. The feat of eclipsing his goal total from last season is even more impressive considering Super Raton also had to balance a considerable amount of national team duty through World Cup Qualifying and Panama's run to this year's Gold Cup final. 

WATCH: Perez scores his 11th goal of the season for FC Dallas

2013 Michael Johnson Performers of the Match:

Date Opponent Performer of the Match
March 2, 2013 Colorado Rapids Jackson
March 10, 2013 Chivas USA David Ferreira
March 17, 2013 Houston Dynamo Michel
March 23, 2013 Real Salt Lake Jackson
March 30, 2013 New England Revolution Raul Fernandez
April 6, 2013 Toronto FC Andrew Jacobson
April 13, 2013 LA Galaxy George John
April 20, 2013 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Blas Perez
April 27, 2013 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Matt Hedges
May 8, 2013 Portland Timbers FC Fabian Castillo
May 11, 2013 D.C. United Jackson
May 18, 2013 Seattle Sounders FC Michel
May 25, 2013 San Jose Earthquakes Raul Fernandez
June 1, 2013 Colorado Rapids Blas Perez
June 15, 2013 Portland Timbers FC Raul Fernandez
June 22, 2013 Sporting Kansas City Walker Zimmerman
June 29, 2013 Philadelphia Union Blas Perez
July 4, 2013 Chivas USA Raul Fernandez
July 7, 2013 LA Galaxy Matt Hedges
July 13, 2013 Real Salt Lake Fabian Castillo
July 20, 2013 Montreal Impact Zach Loyd
August 3, 2013 Seattle Sounders FC Mauro Diaz
August 11, 2013 LA Galaxy Blas Perez
August 17, 2013 Portland Timbers FC Mauro Diaz
August 21, 2013 Chivas USA David Ferreira
August 24, 2013 San Jose Earthquakes Blas Perez
September 7, 2013 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Mauro Diaz
September 14, 2013 Colorado Rapids Jair Benitez
September 22, 2013 New York Red Bulls Matt Hedges
September 29, 2013 Columbus Crew Mauro Diaz
October 5, 2013 Real Salt Lake Kenny Cooper
October 12, 2013 Chicago Fire Kenny Cooper
October 19, 2013 Seattle Sounders FC Michel
October 26, 2013 San Jose Earthquakes Stephen Keel

Past Michael Johnson Performers of the Season:

Year Performer of the Year
2013 Blas Perez
2012 Blas Perez
2011 Brek Shea
2010 David Ferreira
2009 Jeff Cunningham
2008 Kenny Cooper