Kenny Cooper vs Houston
USA Today

Seven Former FC Dallas Players Eligible for National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2020

FRISCO, Texas - U.S. Soccer's list of nominees for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2020 includes a number of former FC Dallas players. Kenny Cooper, Jeff Cunningham, Brad Davis, Clarence Goodson, Kevin Hartman, Eddie Johnson and Carlos Ruiz are all eligible. For Ruiz, the Guatemalan striker who netted a total of 32 goals in his two stints with FCD, 2020 marks the first year of his eligibility. 

Cooper famously signed with the club back in 2006, in what was one of the bigger MLS signings at the time. Having spent his youth days at Manchester United, the forward made an instant impact with FC Dallas, scoring 11 goals in his first season. In 2008, the striker was awarded Comeback Player of the Year, as he scored 18 goals and was named to both the MLS All-Star First XI and Best XI teams. He would return in 2013 for another season with the club, scoring 6 goals in 31 appearances.

While Cooper missed out on the 2007 Copa América tournament, he did compile 11 caps with the U.S. National Team, scoring five goals. 

Another forward, Cunningham played a major role in FC Dallas' run to the 2010 MLS Cup Final, which still stands as the club's lone appearance on the league's grandest stage. His 134 career goals currently place him third on MLS' All-Time goals list. Cunningham played a total of three seasons with FC Dallas, scoring 33 goals, including four in a single 2009 regular season match against the Kansas City Wizards (now, Sporting Kansas City).

Davis played two seasons for the Dallas Burn in 2003 and 2004. While the winger's best days were spent in Houston, he scored eight goals in 55 appearances for the Burn. Over his career, he achieved 17 caps for the Men's National Team.

Goodson played for the club for four seasons, including one while the team was still branded as the Dallas Burn in 2004. The Burn drafted Goodson with the 7th pick in the 2004 MLS SuperDraft and he went on to appear 74 times, scoring three goals before making the trip across the pond to play for IK Start in Norway and Brøndby in Denmark. 

Hartman, who also played for FC Dallas during its run in 2010, is second on MLS' All-Time shutouts list, with a career total of 112. Hartman also is second to Nick Rimando for career saves, with 1,474. He also won Goalkeeper of the Year in 2010, as he etched his name into the FC Dallas history books in stellar fashion. 

For Johnson, the longest serving FC Dallas player on this list, he also represent the club during the Dallas Burn and FC Dallas days. His career with the club spanned from 2001-2005, in which he scored a total of 24 goals in 84 appearances. For the Men's National Team, Johnson had 63 career caps and scored 19 goals. 

And finally, Ruiz. The Guatemalan was traded to FC Dallas from the LA Galaxy in 2005 in exchange for the no.1 spot in the league's allocation order, which the Galaxy used to sign legendary forward Landon Donovan.

Ruiz scored a number of big goals for the club, including a stunning bicycle kick in the 2006 season against Chicago Fire. 

Those eligible will find out on Mar. 18 whether or not they are elected, when a vote will take place. Players who appear on at least 66.7% of the voting ballots will be enshrined.