MATCH RECAP: North Texas SC 0, Greenville Triumph SC 4 | 7.26.19

North Texas SC suffers its first loss at home after a first-half red card

FRISCO - North Texas SC drops its first game at Toyota Stadium 4-0 to Greenville Triumph after Edwin Cerrillo was shown a red card in the 20th minute.

Game Summary

First Half:

  • 20’ Edwin Cerillo was sent off for a high challenge.
  • 30’ – A dynamic run from Dante Sealy ended with the ball of Arturo Rodriguez, but his deflected strike was straight at Dallas Jaye.
  • 35’ Arturo Rodriguez whipped in a free kick which was barely parried by Dallas Jaye.

Second Half:

  • 50’ – Aaron Walker took a strike from a distance, and Carlos Avilez turned it past the post at full stretch.
  • 60’ – Jake Keegan got on the end of a cross in the six-yard box but steered his shot wide.
  • 62’ – After a half hour of pressure Aaron Walker found himself with space on the edge of the box, and his 20-yard shot beat Avilez to give Greenville a 1-0 lead.
  • 64’ – Greenville found a quick second when Jake Keegan got in behind the defense and found the bottom corner.
  • 70’ – A ball bounced around in the box, and Jake Keegan found space to bury his second into the far corner.
  • 80’ Ricardo Pepi was played in down the channel but he could only fire over from a tight angle.
  • 88’ – After Imanol Almaguer gave away a penalty, Edmundo Robinson stepped forward and buried the it down the middle.


North Texas SC — Carlos Avilez; Kevin Bonilla, Callum Mongtomery (Christian Coleman— 70’), Brecc Evans, Imanol Almaguer; Edwin Cerillo, Alfusainey Jatta, Thomas Roberts(David Rodriguez—82’) ; Arturo Rodriguez, Ricardo Pepi, Dante Sealy(Richard Danso— 70’)

Substitutes not used — Eduardo Cortes, Oscar Romero Cesar Murillo,, Tanner Tessmann

Greenville Triumph SC — Dallas Jaye; Dominic Boland, Evan Lee, Kevin Politz, Tyler Polak; Aaron Walker, Carlos Gomez (Ryeong Choi — 83’), Paul Clowes (Travis Ward — 78’), Omar Mohamed (Edmundo Robinson — 60’), Maxwell Hemmings; Jake Keegan, 

Substitutes not used — Miguel Uribe, Colie Soiler, Christopher Bermudez, Sami Guediri

Scoring Summary:
GVL: Aaron Walker (Polak) — 62’
GVL: Jake Keegan (Polak)  — 64’
GVL: Jake Keegan — 70’
GVL: Edmundo Robinson — 88’

Misconduct Summary:
NTSC: Edwin Cerillo (Ejection) — 20’
GVL: Tyler Polak (Caution) — 35’
GVL: Carlos Gomes (Caution) — 45’ +4’
GVL: Edmundo Robison (Caution) — 65’
NTSC: Thomas Roberts (Caution) — 81’
NTSC: Arturo Rodriguez (Caution) — 90+4’

Weather: Partly Cloudy, 86
Attendance: 958

Referee: Joseph Salinas

Assistant Referees: Matthew Seem, Kaili Terry

4th Official: Justin Trzepacz