Best at No. 4 2019
USA Today Sports Images

SUPERDRAFT: Best All-Time MLS SuperDraft Picks at FC Dallas' No. 4

FRISCO - On Jan. 11, FC Dallas will make two selections in the first round of the 2019 MLS SuperDraft. FCD acquired the number four pick from the Colorado Rapids in the Kellyn Acosta trade and more recently added the 10th pick by trading Maxi Urruti to Montreal. It is the second year in a row that FC Dallas will be on the clock at No. 4, selecting Francis Atuahene at the spot in 2018.

Here is look at the five best picks in MLS SuperDraft history selected at pick four.

5. Sean Franklin - 2008 (Los Angeles Galaxy)

Franklin has started 254 games on the backline since he was drafted in 2008. He is a two-time MLS Cup champion and won the Rookie of the Year Award. After being a long-time starter, he transitioned into a reserve role in 2018 for Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

4. Justin Mapp - 2002 (D.C. United)

Mapp played in 309 games in his 15-year MLS career. Mapp was able to be successful late in his career, tallying eight assists in both his 12th and 13th season. He totaled 65 assists in his career playing for five different clubs. He was named on MLS Best XI in 2006 and won Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup twice.

3. Chris Klein - 1998 (Kansas City Wizards)

Klein is 21st all-time in games played for field players. He appeared in 333 matches, starting 290 of those in his MLS career. He played for SKC for his first eight seasons, before moving to Real Salt Lake and the LA Galaxy. Klein's final stat line included 49 goals and 69 assists. He won one MLS Cup and one Open Cup in his playing days and is now the president of the LA Galaxy.

2. Mike Magee - 2003 (MetroStars)

Magee is the best goalscorer to be selected at pick No. 4. He scored 70 goals in his career, including a 21-goal season in 2013. He was included on the league's best XI that season and was named the MVP. Magee also won two MLS Cup's during his tenure with the LA Galaxy.

1. Carlos Bocanegra - 2000 (Chicago Fire)

Bocanegra played four seasons for the Fire from 2000-2003. In that span, he was named the Rookie of the Year and was twice named MLS Defender of the Year. He then moved onto Fulham and a couple of other spots before rejoining MLS in 2013 for Chivas USA. He started 30 games for the team in two seasons. Bocanegra is tied for 10th all-time in caps for the U.S. National Team with 110. He captained the U.S. for 63 games of those matches.

All-Time MLS SuperDraft Selections at No. 4

Year Player Organization MLS Appearances
2018 Francis Atuahene FC Dallas 0
2017 Jeremy Ebobisse Portland Timbers 23
2016 Brandon Vincent Chicago Fire 85
2015 Fatai Alashe San Jose Earthquakes 85
2014 Steve Neumann New England Revolution 36
2013 Kekuta Manneh Vancouver Whitecaps FC 120
2012 Luis Silva Toronto FC 157
2011 Zarek Valentin Chivas USA 111
2010 Teal Bunbury Kansas City Wizards 237
2009 O'Brian White Toronto FC 40
2008 Sean Franklin Los Angeles Galaxy 272
2007 Chris Seitz Real Salt Lake 103
2006 Yura Movsisyan Kansas City Wizards 142
2005 Danny O'Rourke San Jose Earthquakes 200
2004 Matt Taylor Kansas City Wizards 64
2003 Mike Magee MetroStars 316
2002 Justin Mapp D.C. United 309
2001 Ryan Nelsen D.C. United 81
2000 Carlos Bocanegra Chicago Fire 117
1999 Lazo Alavanja Dallas Burn 58
1998 Chris Klein Kansas City Wizards 333
1997 Alberto Montoya San Jose Clas 1
1996 Adam Frye Tampa Bay Mutiny 94